Commissions, Task Forces, & Committees

Access to Justice Commission

The Access to Justice Commission was created by the Mississippi Supreme Court on June 28, 2006, to develop a unified strategy to improve access to the civil courts for the poor. The Commission is tasked to investigate the need for civil legal services to the poor in Mississippi, and to evaluate, develop and recommend policies, programs and initiatives which will assist the judiciary in meeting needs for civil legal services to the poor.

The Executive Director of the Access to Justice Commission is Tiffany Graves, who may be reached at or 601-960-9581.

The Commission is made up of 23 voting members and eight ex-officio members. Co-Chairs are Hinds County Chancery Judge Denise Owens and former Mississippi Bar President H. Rodger Wilder.

Voting Member   Non-voting Ex-officio Commission Members
Harrison County Court Judge Margaret Alfonso, Gulfport
Attorney Gwendolyn Baptist-Hewlitt, Southaven
Jamie Bardwell, Deputy Director of the Women's Foundation of Mississippi, Jackson
Rep. David Baria, Bay St. Louis
Court of Appeals Judge Donna M. Barnes, Tupelo
attorney Edderek Cole, Jackson
Supreme Court Presiding Justice Jess H. Dickinson, Gulfport
Attorney La'Verne Edney, Jackson
Chancery Court Judge Deborah Gambrell, Hattiesburg
Rev. Hosea Hines, pastor of Christ Tabernacle Church, Jackson
Michael Jones, University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson
Humphreys County Circuit Clerk Timaka Jones, Belzoni; Lela Keys, Delta Community Partners in Care, Clarksdale
Supreme Court Justice Leslie D. King, Greenville
Chancery Judge Jacqueline Mask, Tupelo
Hinds County Chancery Judge Denise Owens, Jackson
former Mississippi Bar President Joy Lambert Phillips, Gulfport
Rep. Thomas Reynolds, Charleston
Sixth District Circuit Judge Lillie Blackmon Sanders, Natchez
Dennis Smith, former WLBT News Director, Jackson
Attorney Ronnie Walton, Meridian
Former Mississippi Bar President H. Rodger Wilder, Gulfport
Mississippi Economic Council President Blake Wilson, Jackson.
  Debbie Bell, Associate Dean, University of Mississippi School of Law, Oxford
Sam Buchanan, Executive Director, Mississippi Center for Legal Services, Hattiesburg
Gayla Carpenter-Sanders, Executive Director/General Counsel, Mississippi Volunteer Lawyers Project, Jackson
Ben Cole, Executive Director, North Mississippi Rural Legal Services, Oxford
Patricia Gandy, Executive Director, Mission First Legal Aid Office, Jackson
Dean Richard Gershon, University of Mississippi School of Law, Oxford
Jaribu Hill, Executive Director, Mississippi Workers Center, Greenville
Beth Orlansky, Advocacy Director, Mississippi Center for Justice, Jackson
Jody Owens II, Managing Attorney, Southern Poverty Law Center, Jackson
Jennifer Riley-Collins, Executive Director, American Civil Liberties Union of Mississippi, Jackson
and Dean Wendy Scott, Mississippi College School of Law, Jackson.