 SEQ CHAPTER \h \r 1ADMISSION ON MOTION
GENERAL INFORMATION, INSTRUCTIONS, AND FEES FOR

APPLICATION FOR ADMISSION ON MOTION 
1.  ADMISSION ON MOTION APPLICATION: This application is set up specifically for Admission on Motion (AOM) only. IMPORTANT NOTE: ALL FORMS, WHICH YOU MAY NEED TO COMPLETE AND SUBMIT WITH YOUR APPLICATION, ARE AVAILABLE IN SEPARATE LINKS ON THE MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF BAR ADMISSIONS’ (MBBA) WEBSITE.
2.   Application Fee:  There is a $25.00 application fee (should be paid with $1,500.00 filing fee) which is in addition to your Admission on Motion filing fee. These fees may be combined into one payment.  Please note that all fees paid to the MS Board of Bar Admissions must be in the form of money order or cashier check/certified check and must be submitted at the time you file your application.  The Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions does not accept personal or business checks. 

3.  Eligibility Requirement:  J.D. from ABA-approved Law School. To be eligible to apply for Admission on Motion, your Juris Doctorate degree must have been obtained from a law school, which was provisionally- or fully-approved by the American Bar Association at the time of your graduation. The law school dean must complete the Certificate of Dean of Law School (Form 14) and must attach an official transcript of your grades and a copy of your application for admission to law school (transcript must show date degree was conferred).  
4.   Filing Deadline:  For “Admission on Motion Applications,” there is no deadline. We will accept Admission on Motion Applications at any time; however, any application that is not completed within six months may be dismissed.  If dismissed, you will be required to file a new application and pay the appropriate fees.
TO BE CONSIDERED “FILED” YOU MUST COMPLETE AND FILE ALL OF THE FOLLOWING: 
(The Application, index card, and each form listed in the application may be found in a separate link on the MBBA website):
	Check
	Form Number and Title 

	    [   ]
	Application – (pages 2, 11, & 12 must be signed & notarized)


	    [   ]
      [   ]
    [   ]
	$25.00 Application Fee – Every applicant must pay the required $25.00 application fee in addition to the filing.  Both must be paid at the time you file your application and may be combined into one payment.  Payment must be in the form of a money order or cashier’s check/certified check.  The Board of Bar Admissions does not accept credit cards, personal, corporate or law firm checks.  
$1,500.00 Filing Fee - May be paid together with the application fee in one money order or cashier’s check/certified check.  Payment must be in the form of a money order or cashier’s check/certified check.  
The Board of Bar Admissions does not accept credit cards, personal, corporate or law firm checks.

One 2” x 2” photo

	    [   ]
	Index Card:  Make sure you supply your email address.

	    [   ]
	Form 4 - Status Sheet (2 pages)    Type your name, address, and email address at the top.  Further down the page, type the names of your REFERENCES and EMPLOYERS.


	    [   ] 
	Fingerprints


		

	


	    [   ]
	Form 2 – Additional Response Page   This form is mandatory for questions that require an explanation on the application.


	    [   ]
	National Conference of Bar Examiners - Request for Preparation of a Character Report:  

The original NCBE application, one copy of the original NCBE application, and payment (made payable to NCBE) should be submitted to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions when you submit your Application for Admission on Motion and requisite fees.  All fees must be paid at the time you file your application.  NCBE will not accept cash payments but will accept personal checks, business checks, etc., and credit card payments.

	
	


6. Where to File:   Submit your application, fees, and supporting documents to:

    MAIL DELIVERY:




OVERNIGHT OR HAND DELIVERY:

    Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions

Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions 

    P. O. Box 1449




Gartin Justice Building
    Jackson, MS 39215-1449



450 High Street, Suite 2027







Jackson, MS 39201
7. Typed Answers:   Your answers on the AOM application must be typed/completed on a computer.
8. How to Answer the Questions on the application:  Answer all questions fully and frankly. If a question does not apply, so indicate. Do not leave any questions “blank” unless specifically authorized by the question. You must attach a narrative response to any question, if required (e.g. to explain a student loan default disclosed).

9. Complete Answers:
 If a question requires you to list information, be certain to provide all the information requested.   Do not merely refer to attached documents.   You must respond to the question, as stated. 

10. Complete Addresses:  Provide complete addresses (including zip codes) where required. 

11. Signature/Acknowledgment:   Be sure your application is signed and notarized. Note that your application is a sworn statement and is treated as such.  The application is an ‘ongoing application,’ which requires you to update your application with any pertinent information or changes to any information/answers supplied in your application.  
12.  National Conference of Bar Examiners - Request for Preparation of a Character Report.  
Any applicant who has lived outside the State of Mississippi for six (6) months (either consecutively or cumulatively) or longer after his/her eighteenth (18th) birthday (including residence for educational, employment, or military reasons), must complete an application for preparation of a National Conference of Bar Examiners’ (NCBE) Character Report and pay the required fee to NCBE.   This fee is in addition to fees set forth in the schedule of fees due to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions and must be paid separately.   DO NOT INCLUDE BOTH FEES IN ONE PAYMENT.   The NCBE application must be completed and filed with our office at the same time your Application for Admission on Motion is filed.  For a list of fees and to complete the NCBE, “preparation of an out-of-state Character Report,” go to the National Conference of Bar Examiners’ website at http://www.ncbex.org/character-and-fitness/.  Please read and understand the requirements and instructions of this application.  Support may be reached via the methods listed in the documentation.  Once you complete the NCBE application, you must print an original and have it notarized.  Make two copies, keeping one copy for your records.  You must submit the NCBE original and one copy (with the appropriate payment made out to the NCBE) to our office at the same time you file your Application for Admission on Motion.    We mail the NCBE application for you.  This enables our office to track the progress of the NCBE investigation.
13. Acknowledgment of Receipt by MBBA:  You will receive notification of the receipt of your application by mail or email from the administrative office.  This will be after your application is processed into a ‘file’ and you are officially entered into our database of applicants.   This acknowledgment is not a statement of eligibility.

14. Correspondence with the MBBA: 
Indicate on all correspondence that you are an AOM applicant.

15. Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE): Some reciprocal jurisdictions require an Admission on Motion applicant to have a valid MPRE score.   Please view the list of states requiring an MPRE score.  This list may be found at http://courts.ms.gov/baradmissions/baradmissions_admissiononmotion.html.
It shall be the responsibility of each applicant to register for and take the MPRE in the manner and at the time designated by NCBE.  You must request that your score be sent to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions. You may register for or request a score report/transfer at http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpre/.
16. Standards for Disqualification of Applicant:   The Board calls to your attention Rule VIII, Section 6, of the Rules Governing Admission to the Mississippi Bar, which sets forth the standards for disqualification of an applicant.  The Board recommends that you review these carefully.
17. Selective Service Registration:  You can obtain information on the registration requirements and obtain your registration number at http://www.sss.gov.  In brief, men born from March 29, 1957 to December 31, 1959 were never required to register because the registration program was not in operation at the time they turned 18. The requirement to register was reinstated in 1980 and applies to all men born on or after January 1, 1960.
Rules Governing Admission to the Mississippi Bar can be viewed on our website at  http://courts.ms.gov/rules/msrulesofcourt/rules_admission_msbar.pdf
SCHEDULE OF FEES
This office answers numerous questions concerning the fees that applicants will be required to pay either to this office, the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE), or to the different courts required by a swearing-in ceremony.  The following is a synopsis of these fees.  Please review the schedule BEFORE YOU CALL.  If you are still unsure of what fee to file with a particular application, then call us and we will assist you in determining the appropriate fee(s) you owe.  (Please be aware that fees charged by the various bar review courses, NCBE, and the various courts are subject to change.)

ALL FEES PAYABLE TO THE MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF BAR ADMISSIONS MUST BE IN THE FORM OF MONEY ORDER, CASHIER’S CHECK, OR EXACT AMOUNT OF CASH.  PERSONAL OR BUSINESS CHECKS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.  IF PAYING IN CASH YOU MUST BRING THE EXACT AMOUNT AS WE DO NOT KEEP CHANGE.

Application Fee………...………………………..………………………………………………..$25.00

Filing Fee........................................................................................................................$1,500.00
This fee applies to a licensed attorney that is applying for admission to The Mississippi by Admission on Motion.
Additional Investigative Fees.........................................................................DISCRETIONARY

MULTISTATE PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY EXAMINATION (MPRE):   None of these fees are payable to Bar Admissions.  Fees are subject to change.  An applicant may register for, or request a score report from, the MPRE on-line at        http://www.ncbex.org/exams/mpre/. (Check website for current fees.)

Retain a copy of everything you file with the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions (MBBA).   
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