 SEQ CHAPTER \h \r 1ADMISSION BY EXAMINATION

GENERAL INFORMATION, INSTRUCTIONS, FEES & EXAM SCHEDULE

FOR FILING AN APPLICATION FOR THE JULY 2011 BAR EXAMINATION
DEADLINES AND EXAM SCHEDULE
	February 1, 2011
	Tuesday
	All Applications Filing Deadline (on-time/first deadline)

	February 1, 2011
	Tuesday
	Non-Standard Testing Petition Deadline 

	April 1, 2011
	Monday
	Late Application Filing Deadline and Late Non-Standard Testing Petition Deadline (When applications are filed after the regular filing deadline between the dates of February 2, 2011 and up to April 1, 2011, the Board may act, but shall not be required to act, upon such application in time to permit the applicant to take the approaching examination.) Under no circumstances will an application be accepted after April 1, 2011.

	July 25, 2011
	Monday
	Mississippi Essay Examination
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	Tuesday
	Multistate Performance Test and Multistate Essay Examination

	July 27, 2011

	Wednesday
	Multistate Bar Examination

	September 15, 2011
	Thursday
	Projected release of July 2011 Bar Exam results 


2.  JULY 2011 BAR EXAMINATION APPLICATION: This application is set up specifically for the July 2011 Bar Examination only.  If you do not use this application to apply for the July 2011 Mississippi Bar Examination, you must use the application for the subsequent examination which you wish to apply.  IMPORTANT NOTE:   ALL FORMS REFERRED TO IN THE QUESTIONS ON THE APPLICATION WHICH YOU MAY NEED TO COMPLETE AND SUBMIT WITH YOUR APPLICATION ARE AVAILABLE IN SEPARATE LINKS ON THE MBBA WEBSITE.

3.   Application Fee:  There is a $25.00 application fee.  This is in addition to your July 2011 Exam Application filing fee.  This fee may be paid at the same time you pay filing fees and may be combined on one money order.  Please note that all fees paid to the MS Board of Bar Admissions must be in the form of cash, cashier’s check, or money order and must be submitted at the time you file your application.  Personal or business checks are not accepted. 

4.  Eligibility Requirement: J.D. from ABA-approved Law School. To be eligible to sit for the bar examination you must have received your Juris Doctorate degree from a law school which is provisionally or fully approved by the Section on Legal Education and Admission to the Bar of the American Bar Association. Your law school dean must complete the Certificate of Dean of Law School (Form 14) and must attach an official transcript of your grades and a copy of your application for admission to law school (transcript must show date degree was conferred).  If you have not completed your J.D. degree at the time of filing your application, the dean must attach a current transcript.  Upon completion of law school we will obtain another Form 14, Certificate of Dean of Law School, to verify final certification of your J.D. degree.  (This should be sent directly to the MBBA from the law school.)
5.   Filing Deadline:  The filing deadline for the July 2011 bar examination is February 1, 2011.  "Filed" is defined as the date the application is RECEIVED (not the date it is postmarked) with the correct fees.  Applications may be filed between February 2, 2011 and April 1, 2011 (with an additional late fee of $200.00); however, when applications are filed after the regular filing deadline of February 1, 2011, the Board may act, but shall not be required to act, upon such application in time to permit the applicant to take the July 2011 examination.  Under no circumstances will an application be accepted after April 1, 2011. (Please note that any time a filing deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or a State of Mississippi holiday when the Bar Admissions office is closed, the filing deadline is automatically moved to the next business day.)  
TO BE CONSIDERED “FILED” YOU MUST COMPLETE AND SUBMIT ALL OF THE FOLLOWING BY THE APPLICATION FILING DEADLINE (The Application, index card, and each form listed in the application are each in a separate link on the MBBA website):

	Check
	Form Number and Title 

	    [   ]
	Application – (pages 2, 3, 12 & 13 must notarized)


	    [   ]
	Filing Fee & Application Fee – Every applicant must pay the required $25.00 application fee in addition to the filing fee.  Both must be paid by the time you file your application.  Fees due must be in the form of certified check, money order, or exact cash and may be combined into one payment.  The Board of Bar Admissions does not accept credit cards, personal, corporate or law firm checks.  You may pay your fees in cash; however, you must bring the exact amount as this office does not keep money to make change.


	    [   ]
	Index Card.  Make sure you fully complete this form, including your LSAC number.
   Most examinees will already have an LSAC number, and they will be able to log in to the LSAC website to access the number if they lack a record of it.  Any examinee who does not have an LSAC number can register for a number at LSAC’s website.  The online registration process is located at http://lsaclookup.lsac.org/lookup.aspx

	    [   ]
	Form 4 (2 pages) - Status Sheet (On page 1 type in your name, address, and email address in the upper left hand corner.  On page 2, type in your name at the left top of the page and your email address and LSAC number to the right of your address.  Type your references and employers at the bottom.

	    [   ]
	Form 6 - Application Forms Filing Checklist (for all items not listed in this section that must be filed at the time you file your application, you will have three weeks to provide the additional items required).


	


	    [   ]
	Form 2 – Additional Response Page for question #22b and/or any other questions, if applicable.


	    [   ]
	Form 8-A (Request to Transfer MBE to Tennessee) or 8-B (Transfer of MBE Score from another jurisdiction), if applicable.  If you are filing Form 8-B, you should submit it at the time of filing your application, but no later than June 24, 2011 or you will be unable to utilize your previously attained MBE Score.


	    [   ]
	Form NST9 - Non-Standard Testing Notification and completed Petition For Non-Standard Testing - if applicable ADVANCE \d 5

	    [   ]
	National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) - Application for Preparation of a Character Report, if applicable.  The original NCBE application, a copy, and payment should be submitted to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions when you submit your Bar Exam application and payment.  NCBE will not accept cash payments. NCBE fees and application must be submitted at the time you file your JULY 2011 Application and payment to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.  *See #12 of these instructions for additional information.



☼ Retain a copy of everything you file with the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions (MBBA).   You should mail your application well in advance of the filing deadline to allow adequate transit time and you should plan to file as early as possible to allow time to correct problems. 

6. Where to File:   Submit your application, fee, and supporting documents to:

    
MAIL DELIVERY:




OVERNIGHT OR HAND DELIVERY:

    
Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions


Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions 

    
P. O. Box 1449





New Gartin Justice Building
    
Jackson, MS 39215-1449




450 High Street, Suite 2027








Jackson, MS 39201
7. Typed Answers:   Your answers on the bar application must be typed.
8. How to Answer the Questions:  Answer all questions fully and frankly. If a question does not apply, so indicate. Do not leave any questions blank unless specifically authorized by the question. You must attach a narrative response to any appropriate question (e.g. to explain a student loan default disclosed).

9. Complete Answers:
 If a question requires you to list information, be certain to provide all the information requested. Do not merely refer to attached documents. You must respond to the question as asked. 

10. Complete Addresses:  Provide complete addresses (including zip codes) where required. 

11. Signature/Acknowledgment:   Be sure your application is signed and notarized. Note that your application is a sworn statement and is treated as such.

12.  National Conference of Bar Examiners - application for preparation of an “out-of-state” Character Report.  Any applicant who has lived outside the State of Mississippi for six (6) months (either consecutively or cumulatively) or longer after his/her eighteenth (18th) birthday (including residence for educational, employment, or military reasons), must complete an application for request for preparation of an “out-of-state”  National Conference of Bar Examiners’ (NCBE) Character Report and pay a fee to the NCBE.  This fee is in addition to fees due to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions and must be paid separately.  DO NOT INCLUDE BOTH FEES IN ONE PAYMENT.  The NCBE application must be completed and filed with our office at the same time your Examination Application is filed.  To complete the NCBE request for preparation of an “out-of-state” Character Report, go to their web site at http://www.ncbex.org/ea.  Please read and understand the requirements and instructions of this application.  Support may be reached via the methods listed in the documentation.  Once you complete the application, you must print the original and have it notarized.  Make two copies, keeping one copy for your records.  You must file the original and one copy (with the appropriate payment made out to NCBE) with our office at the time you file your JULY 2011 Exam Application and payment to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.

13. Acknowledgment of Receipt by MBBA:  You should receive notification of the receipt of your application within approximately fifteen (15) days of receipt by the administrative office.  This is not a statement of eligibility to sit for the examination.

14. Correspondence with the MBBA: Indicate on all correspondence that you are a JULY 2011 examination applicant.

15. MBE Transfer:   See specific instructions accompanying the transfer forms.  1) If you have previously taken the Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) and you want to utilize your score for the July 2011 bar examination, you must have attained the score on an administration of the MBE within the immediately preceding twenty (20) months prior to the bar examination for which you propose to sit.  You will need to complete FORM 8-B and submit the requisite fee, preferably at the time of filing your application, but no later than June 24, 2011 or you will be unable to utilize your previously attained MBE Score.   MBE scores prior to FEBRUARY 2010 will not be accepted for transfer.    2) If you plan to sit for the essay portion of the Tennessee Bar Exam the same week you sit for the July 2011 Mississippi Bar Exam, you will need to complete FORM 8-A and submit the requisite fee of $25.00.  These forms have been provided in a separate link on the MBBA website.  If this does not apply to you, do not return the forms to our office. 
16. Non-standard Testing:  If you have a disability which will require special assistance or accommodations on the bar examination, you must file a completed Petition for Non-Standard Testing at the time you file your Bar Exam Application.  These forms have been provided in a separate link on the MBBA website.  If this does not apply to you, do not return the forms to MBBA.
17.  Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination/MPRE: You must complete page 2 of the application indicating the MPRE for which you sat/will sit.  As a mandatory condition for admission to the Mississippi Bar by examination, each applicant must achieve a scaled score of not less than 75 on the MPRE administered by the ACT.  This score must be achieved on an administration of the MPRE within twenty-four (24) months before or within twelve (12) months after the date of administration of the Mississippi Bar Examination at which the applicant achieves a passing result.  It shall be the responsibility of each applicant to register for and take the MPRE in the manner and at the time prescribed by the NCBE and to request that his/her scores be furnished by the NCBE to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions. The MPRE may be taken before or after the administration of the Mississippi Bar Examination at which an applicant proposes to sit; however, applicants are strongly encouraged to take the MPRE before taking the Mississippi Bar Examination, since no applicant will receive a "Certificate of Eligibility for Admission" until the Board receives the certification of the applicant's achieving the said minimum scaled score on the MPRE within the time period prescribed in this subpart.  If you have not taken or must re-take the MPRE, you may register on-line at http://www.act.org/mpre.  MPRE scores prior to August 2009 will not be accepted for the July 2011 Bar Exam. 
18. Standards for Disqualification of Applicant:   The Board calls to your attention Rule VIII, Section 6, of the Rules Governing Admission to the Mississippi Bar which sets forth the standards for disqualification of an applicant.  The Board recommends that you review these carefully.

19. Selective Service Registration:  You can obtain information on the registration requirements and obtain your registration number at http://www.sss.gov.  In brief, men born from March 29, 1957 to December 31, 1959 were never required to register because the registration program was not in operation at the time they turned 18. The requirement to register was reinstated in 1980 and applies to all men born on or after January 1, 1960.

Rules Governing Admission to the Mississippi Bar can be viewed on our website at http://www.mssc.state.ms.us/baradmissions.

Information on the Multistate Performance Test (MPT), Multistate Essay Exam (MEE), and Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) and Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) can be viewed at http://www.ncbex.org.  Once you get to the web page, you will find in the left hand column a section labeled Multistate Tests where you will find an individual link for each of these exams that you can click on for more information.

The projected date and time the results of the July 2011 bar examination will be available on the Internet is 7:00 p.m. on September 15, 2011.
SCHEDULE OF FEES
This office answers numerous questions concerning the fees which applicants will be required to pay either to this office, bar review courses, the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE), or to the different courts during the swearing-in ceremony.  The following is a synopsis of these fees. Please review the schedule BEFORE YOU CALL.  If you are still unsure of what fee to file with a particular application, then call us and we will assist you in determining the appropriate fee(s) you owe.  (Please be aware that fees charged by the various bar review courses, the NCBE, and the various courts are subject to change at their discretion.)

***ALL FEES PAYABLE TO THE MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF BAR ADMISSIONS MUST BE IN THE FORM OF MONEY ORDER, CASHIER’S CHECK, OR CASH.  PERSONAL OR BUSINESS CHECKS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.  IF PAYING IN CASH YOU MUST BRING THE EXACT AMOUNT AS WE DO NOT KEEP CHANGE.***
      Examination Fee............................................................................................................................$825.00
This fee applies to an applicant who has not filed a Registration as a Law Student BUT is filing a timely examination application, by February 1, 2011 preceding the JULY 2011 Bar Exam. Plus $25.00 application fee.
Late Examination Fee..................................................................................................................$1,025.00
This fee applies to an applicant who has not filed a Registration as a Law Student but is filing a late examination application between February 2, 2011 and April 1, 2011 preceding the July 2011 Bar Exam.  However, under no circumstances will an application be accepted if filed after the April 1, 2011 late filing deadline.  We do not guarantee that applications filed after the regular filing deadline of February 1, 2011 will be processed in time for the applicant to sit for the July 2011 exam.  If processing and approval by the Committee on Character and Fitness and the Board cannot be completed prior to the exam for which you are scheduled to sit, you may be automatically deferred to the next scheduled exam. 
Plus $25.00 application fee.

Re-Examination Fee........................................................................................................................$550.00
This fee applies to all applicants who retake the Bar Examination.  The filing deadline for all retake applications is May 1, 2011 preceding the July 2011 Examination.  Plus $25.00 application fee.
Deferment Fee.................................................................................................................................$325.00
You are allowed one deferment of an examination without any charge as long as the written request for deferment is received by this office prior to the examination which you are deferring.  The Application Update MUST be complete before you may defer. Any additional requests for deferment must also be in writing, received prior to the examination which you are deferring, and must be accompanied by a fee of $325.00 in the form of cash, cashier's check, or money order made out to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.  Plus $25.00 application fee.
Additional Investigative Fees.........................................................................................DISCRETIONARY
MULTISTATE PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY EXAMINATION (MPRE) None of these fees are payable to Bar Admissions. Fees are subject to change. Applications for the MPRE may be filed on-line at www.act.org/mpre.   (Check website for current fees.)

If filed by the appropriate filing deadline.....................................................................................$60.00

If filed after the appropriate filing deadline BUT before the cutoff deadline..........................$120.00

FEES DUE TO THE NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF BAR EXAMINERS (NCBE):
In addition to the fees stated above, applicants in the following categories MUST also complete and submit an application and appropriate filing fee for an out-of-state Character and Fitness investigation by the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE).  This application (the original plus one copy) and fee payable to NCBE is in addition to all July 2011 Examination Application and fee for the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.  The NCBE application and fee should be mailed to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions, along with your Bar Examination Application and fees.  Do not mail this application to NCBE.  The NCBE Application and July 2011 Bar Exam Application fees must be paid separately yet both should be submitted to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.
ANY APPLICANT WHO HAS LIVED OUTSIDE THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI FOR SIX (6) MONTHS OR LONGER AFTER HIS/HER EIGHTEENTH (18TH) BIRTHDAY (INCLUDING RESIDENCY FOR EDUCATIONAL, EMPLOYMENT, OR MILITARY REASONS), MUST COMPLETE AN APPLICATION FOR AN OUT-OF-STATE CHARACTER REPORT AND PAY A FEE TO THE NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF BAR EXAMINERS (NCBE).  (THE SIX MONTH PERIOD COULD BE A COMBINATION OF TWO OR MORE SUMMERS.)  THESE FEES ARE IN ADDITION TO THE FEES SET FORTH IN THE SCHEDULE OF FEES DUE TO THE MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF BAR ADMISSIONS.  IF AN APPLICATION AND FEE TO NCBE ARE REQUIRED AND APPLICANT DOES NOT SUBMIT IT WITH THE MISSISSIPPI BAR EXAMINATION APPLICATION, THE MISSISSIPPI BAR APPLICATION WILL NOT BE PROCESSED UNTIL THE ADDITIONAL APPLICATION AND FEE FOR THE NCBE ARE RECEIVED.  *Please note that fees payable to NCBE are subject to change.  Check the NCBE website for current fees.
Category I:  Law Student Registrant............................................................................................$150.00
1)  Law student whose request for a character report will be received at NCBE within    

     15 months of first enrollment in law school.

Category II:  First Bar Admission or Late Law Student Registrant...........................................$225.00

1)  Applicant must be anticipated or recent law school graduate; and

2)  Juris Doctor degree was awarded less than one year before this application is  
     received at NCBE; and


3) Not been admitted to the practice of law in any jurisdiction at the time this application is filed; or


4) Applicant is a law student whose request for a character report will be received
 
     at NCBE more than 15 months after first enrollment in law school.

Category III: Attorney.....................................................................................................................$300.00
1) Applicant is presently a member of another bar seeking admission to
    Mississippi,  or

2) Not a member of a bar, but the application is received at NCBE more than one 

     year after the Juris Doctor degree was awarded.

Category IV: Foreign Attorney.......................................................................................................$600.00

     Applicant is a member of a bar of a foreign country.

Category V:  Supplemental Report - $150.00 unless the Supplemental Report is being prepared for the same jurisdiction for which NCBE prepared a Law Student Report, then $75.00  Request that a character report previously prepared by NCBE be supplemented to account for the intervening period from the completion date of the original NCBE report to the present.  A supplemental report can only be prepared providing the following conditions are satisfied:

1) The original NCBE report was completed less than four years preceding the date this request   

     for Supplemental Report is received at NCBE; and,


2) The entire application must be completed by the applicant.

BAR REVIEW INFORMATION
THE MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF BAR ADMISSIONS HAS NO AFFILIATION AND DOES NOT ENDORSE ANY BAR REVIEW COURSE.  (You will need to check with each Bar Review to obtain the current fees and review information as fees are subject to change at their discretion.  None of these fees are payable to MBBA.)
BAR/BRI REVIEW COURSE   


(MBE, Essay, and MPRE Review)

1-800-922-7274


www.barbri.com
KAPLAN - P.M.B.R./MBE REVIEW

(MBE Review only)

1-800-523-0777

www.kaplanpmbr.com
MICROMASH BAR REVIEW


(MBE & MPRE Review only)


1-800-BAR-EXAM. Ext. 323

www.micromashbar.com
REED’S MULTISTATE BAR REVIEW, INC.
(MBE & MPRE Review only)


1-800-852-3926


www.PassYourBar.com

E-mail: HUGHREED@aol.com

BEAT THE BAR.COM STUDY TOOLS


(817) 276-9090


www.beatthebar.com
AMERIBAR BAR REVIEW

(800) 529-2651

www.ameribar.com
In addition to the aforementioned applications and fees, we have had requests concerning the cost for admission to the different courts at the swearing-in-ceremony.  These fees are paid by applicants who are certified as passing the bar examination and wish to participate in the swearing-in ceremony.  (None of these fees are payable to Bar Admissions.)  Fees are subject to change at the discretion of the courts.

Chancery Court...............................................................................................................................$37.00

Supreme Court................................................................................................................................$30.00

U.S. Northern District Court...........................................................................................................$160.00

U.S. Southern District Court..........................................................................................................$160.00

Fifth Circuit/U.S. Court of Appeals..................................................................................................$50.00

MISSISSIPPI BAR EXAMINATION SCHEDULE
JULY 25, 26, & 27, 2011
MONDAY
7:30 - 8:15
REGISTRATION
8:30 - 11:30
MSE 

Mississippi Essay Examination; Questions 1-3

11:30 - 1:15


LUNCH
1:30 - 4:30
MSE        
Mississippi Essay Examination; Questions 4-6


Areas of law that may be covered in the Mississippi Essay Examination include the following:  (A) Administrative Law; (B) Contracts; (C) Business Organizations, including Corporations, Partnership and Agency; (D) Criminal Law and Procedure; (E) Domestic Relations; (F) Evidence; (G) Federal Income Taxation; (H) Federal Jurisdiction and Rules of Civil Procedure; (I) Practice and Procedure of Mississippi Courts; (J) Professional Conduct and Ethics; (K) Real Property; (L) Torts; (M) Uniform Commercial Code; (N) Constitution of the United States and the State of Mississippi; (O) Wills, Estates, Trusts and Future Interests (including basic federal tax consequences); (P) Conflict of Laws and (Q) Bankruptcy.  



Legal Ethics and Professional Conduct is a potential subject matter on questions throughout the Mississippi Essay Examination.  Some questions may include issues in more than one area of law.

======================================================================================
TUESDAY
7:45 - 8:15
REGISTRATION
8:30 - 11:30
MPT  

Multistate Performance Test   
The MPT requires (1) problem solving; (2) legal analysis & reasoning; (3) factual analysis; (4) communication; (5) organization & management of a legal task; and (6) recognizing & resolving ethical dilemmas.

11:30 - 1:15


LUNCH
1:30 - 4:30
MEE 

Multistate Essay Exam 




Areas of law that may be covered include the following: Business Associations (Agency, Partnership, Corporations and Limited Liability Companies); Conflict of Laws; Constitutional Law; Contracts; Criminal Law and Procedure; Evidence; Family Law; Federal Civil Procedure; Real Property; Torts; Trusts and Estates (Decedents’ Estates, Trusts and Future Interests); and Uniform Commercial Code (Negotiable Instruments (Commercial Paper); Secured Transactions).  Some questions may include issues in more than one area of law.

======================================================================================
WEDNESDAY
7:45 - 8:15
REGISTRATION
8:30 - 11:30
MBE -

Multistate Bar Examination - A.M. Session
11:30 - 1:15


LUNCH
1:30 - 4:30
MBE -

Multistate Bar Examination - P.M. Session
======================================================================================

THIS TIME SCHEDULE WILL BE STRICTLY ENFORCED

Any applicant who reports to the testing room after the examination has started may not be able to take the examination.
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