 SEQ CHAPTER \h \r 1ADMISSION BY EXAMINATION

GENERAL INFORMATION, INSTRUCTIONS, FEES & EXAM SCHEDULE

FOR FILING AN APPLICATION FOR THE JULY 2015 BAR EXAMINATION
1.  
JULY 2015 BAR EXAMINATION APPLICATION: This application is set up specifically for the July 2015 Bar Examination only.  If you do not use this application to apply for the July 2015 Mississippi Bar Examination, you must use the application for the subsequent examination for which you wish to apply.  IMPORTANT NOTE:   ALL FORMS REFERRED TO IN THE QUESTIONS ON THE APPLICATION WHICH YOU MAY NEED TO COMPLETE AND SUBMIT WITH YOUR APPLICATION ARE AVAILABLE IN SEPARATE LINKS ON THE MBBA WEBSITE.

2.   
Application Fee:  There is a $25.00 application fee that is in addition to your July 2015 Examination Application filing fee.  This fee may be paid at the same time you pay filing fees and may be combined into one money order.  Please note that all fees paid to the MS Board of Bar Admissions must be in the form of money order or cashier’s check/certified check and must be submitted at the time you file your application.  Personal or business checks are not accepted. 

3.  
Eligibility Requirement: J.D. from ABA-approved Law School. To be eligible to sit for the bar examination you must have received your Juris Doctorate degree from a law school which is provisionally or fully approved by the Section on Legal Education and Admission to the Bar of the American Bar Association. Your law school dean must complete the Certificate of Dean of Law School (Form 14) and must attach an official transcript of your grades and a copy of your application for admission to law school (transcript must show date degree was conferred).  If you have not completed your J.D. degree at the time of filing your application, the dean must attach a current transcript.  Upon completion of law school we will obtain another Form 14, Certificate of Dean of Law School, to verify final certification of your J.D. degree.  (This should be sent directly to the MBBA from the law school.)
4.   
Filing Deadline: The filing deadline for the July 2015 Bar Examination is February 1, 2015.  "Filed" is defined as the date the application is RECEIVED (not the date it is postmarked) with the correct fees.  Applications may be filed between February 2, 2015 and April 1, 2015 (with an additional late fee of $200.00); however, when applications are filed after the regular filing deadline of February 1, 2015, the Board may act, but shall not be required to act, upon such application in time to permit the applicant to take the July 2015 Bar Examination.  Under no circumstances will an application be accepted after April 1, 2015. (Please note that any time a filing deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or a State of Mississippi Holiday when the Bar Admissions office is closed, the filing deadline is automatically moved to the next business day.)  
TO BE CONSIDERED “FILED” YOU MUST COMPLETE AND SUBMIT ALL OF THE FOLLOWING BY THE APPLICATION FILING DEADLINE (The Application, index card, and each form listed in the application are each in a separate link on the MBBA website):
	Check
	Form Number and Title 

	    [   ]
	Application  - signed and notarized where applicable

	    [   ]
	Filing Fee & Application Fee – Every applicant must pay the required $25.00 application fee in addition to the filing fee.  Both must be paid at the time you file your application.  Fees due must be in the form of money order or cashier’s check/certified check and may be combined into one payment.  The Board of Bar Admissions does not accept credit cards, personal, corporate or law firm checks.  

	    [   ]
	Index Card.  Make sure you fully complete this form, including your NCBE number.   Go to NCBE’s website to register for and obtain an NCBE Number: www.ncbex.org. Click on “Get an NCBE Number.”

	    [   ]
	Form 4 - Status Sheet (2 pages) - Status Sheet (On page 1 type in your name, address, and email address in the upper left hand corner.  Type in your name at the left top of the page and your email address to the right of your address.  Type your references and employers further down the first page and onto the second.


	


	    [   ]
	Form 2 – Additional Response Page for any questions that require explanation on the application.


	   [   ]
	Form 8A (Transfer of MBE Score from another jurisdiction or from a prior Mississippi Bar Examination), if applicable.  This form should be submitted directly to the jurisdiction wherein you attained the MBE score, or to the National Conference of Bar Examiners, if applicable.  
If you must submit your MBE Score Transfer Request to NCBE, you should mail it, along with any applicable fees, to:

                                          National Conference of Bar Examiners
                                          302 South Bedford Street
                                          Madison, WI 53703-3622
If you are filing Form 8A, The form should be received from the certifying agency no later than 
June 29, 2015 or you will be unable to utilize your previously attained score.  
There is no cost to utilize an MBE Score from a prior Mississippi Examination.  Turn in Form 8A with “MS” and the date of the examination in which you achieved the score you would like to use. The form must be signed and notarized.   


	    [   ]
	Form 8B (Release form to utilize Laptop Testing to type your answers on the July 2015 Bar Examination) If you are filing Form 8B, it should be submitted with your application.  This form will place your name on the list of applicants who would like information and instructions on Laptop Testing.


	    [   ]
	National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) - Application for Preparation of a Character Report, if applicable.  The original NCBE application, a copy, and payment, should be submitted to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions when you submit your MBBA Bar Exam Application and payment.  NCBE will not accept cash payments. NCBE fees and application must be submitted at the time you file your JULY 2015 BAR EXAMINATION APPLICATION and payment to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.  *See #11 of these instructions for additional information.




☼ Retain a copy of everything you file with the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions (MBBA).   You should mail your application well in advance of the filing deadline to allow adequate transit time and you should plan to file as early as possible to allow time to correct problems. 

5. 
Where to File:   Submit your application, fee, and supporting documents to:

    
MAIL DELIVERY:




OVERNIGHT OR HAND DELIVERY:

    
Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions


Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions 

    
P. O. Box 1449





Carroll Gartin Justice Building
    
Jackson, MS 39215-1449



450 High Street, Suite 2027








Jackson, MS 39201
6. 
Typed Answers:   Your answers on the bar application must be typed/completed on a computer.
7. 
How to Answer the Questions:  Answer all questions fully and frankly. If a question does not apply, so indicate. Do not leave any questions blank unless specifically authorized by the question. You must attach a narrative response to any appropriate question (e.g. to explain a student loan default disclosed).
8. 
Complete Answers:
 If a question requires you to list information, be certain to provide all the information requested. Do not merely refer to attached documents. You must respond to the question as asked. 

9. 
Complete Addresses:   Provide complete addresses (including zip codes) where required. 

10. 
Signature/Acknowledgment:   Be sure your application is signed and notarized. Note that your application is a sworn statement and is treated as such.

11.  
National Conference of Bar Examiners - application for preparation of an “out-of-state” Character Report.  Any applicant who has lived outside the State of Mississippi for six (6) months (either consecutively or cumulatively) or longer after his/her eighteenth (18th) birthday (including residence for educational, employment, or military reasons), must complete an application for request for preparation of an “out-of-state”  National Conference of Bar Examiners’ (NCBE) Character Report and pay a fee to the NCBE.  This fee is in addition to fees due to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions and must be paid separately.  DO NOT INCUDE THIS FEE WITH YOUR PAYMENT TO MBBA.  An NCBE application must be completed and filed with our office at the same time your Examination Application is filed.  For a list of fees and to complete the NCBE request for preparation of an “out-of-state” Character Report, go to their web site at http://www.ncbex.org/character-and-fitness/.   Please read and understand the requirements and instructions of this application.  Support may be reached via the methods listed in the documentation. Once you complete the application, you must print the original and have it notarized.  Make two copies, keeping one copy for your records.  You must file the original NCBE application and one copy of the NCBE application (with the appropriate payment made out to NCBE) with our office at the time you file your JULY 2015 Examination Application and payment to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.
12. 
Acknowledgment of Receipt by MBBA:  You will receive notification of the receipt of your application by mail or email from the administrative office.  This is not a statement of eligibility to sit for the examination.

13. 
Correspondence with the MBBA: Indicate on all correspondence that you are a JULY 2015 Bar Examination applicant.

14. 
MBE Transfer:   See specific instructions accompanying the transfer forms.   If you have previously taken the Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) and you want to utilize your score for the July 2015 Bar Examination, you must have attained the score on an administration of the MBE within the immediately preceding twenty (20) months prior to the bar examination for which you propose to sit.  You are required to send the Form 8A to the agency responsible for certifying your score, whether it be another state’s Bar Admissions Office or the National Conference of Bar Examiners, and have the completed Form 8A submitted by that agency to our office no later than June 29, 2015 or you will not be able to utilize your previous score.  If NCBE is the agency that reports the MBE scores for the jurisdiction in which you took the MBE, have NCBE send the score report to Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.  Even if NCBE reports the MBE score, you must complete the top portion of the Form 8A and submit to the MBBA office.   MBE scores prior to February 2014 will not be accepted for transfer.
15. 
Test Accommodations:  If you have a disability which will require special assistance or accommodations on the Bar Examination, you must file a completed FORM 1: APPLICANT REQUEST FOR TEST ACCOMMODATIONS at the time you file your Bar Exam Application, as well as, all applicable items specified in the Applicant Checklist, located in Section V of Form 1: Applicant Request for Test Accommodations.  These forms have been provided in a separate link on the MBBA website.  
16.  
Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination/MPRE: You must complete page 2 of the application indicating the MPRE for which you sat/will sit.  As a mandatory condition for admission to the Mississippi Bar by examination, each applicant must achieve a scaled score of not less than 75 on the MPRE administered by the ACT.  This score must be achieved on an administration of the MPRE within twenty-four (24) months before or within twelve (12) months after the date of administration of the Mississippi Bar Examination at which the applicant achieves a passing result.  It shall be the responsibility of each applicant to register for and take the MPRE in the manner and at the time designated by NCBE and to request that his/her scores be furnished by NCBE to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions. The MPRE may be taken before or after the administration of the Mississippi Bar Examination at which an applicant proposes to sit; however, applicants are strongly encouraged to take the MPRE before taking the Mississippi Bar Examination, since no applicant will receive a "Certificate of Eligibility for Admission" until the Board receives the certification of the applicant's achieving the said minimum scaled score on the MPRE within the time period prescribed in this subpart.  If you have not taken or must re-take the MPRE, you may register on-line at http://www.ncbex.org/about-ncbe-exams/mpre/.  MPRE scores prior to August 2013 will not be accepted for the July 2015 Bar Exam. 
17. 
Standards for Disqualification of Applicant:  The Board calls to your attention Rule VIII, Section 6, of the Rules Governing Admission to the Mississippi Bar that sets forth the standards for disqualification of an applicant.  The Board recommends that you review these carefully.

18. 
Selective Service Registration:  You can obtain information on the registration requirements and obtain your registration number at http://www.sss.gov.  In brief, men born from March 29, 1957 to December 31, 1959 were never required to register because the registration program was not in operation at the time they turned 18. The requirement to register was reinstated in 1980 and applies to all men born on or after January 1, 1960.

Rules Governing Admission to the Mississippi Bar can be viewed on our website at.

http://courts.ms.gov/rules/msrulesofcourt/rules_admission_msbar.pdf.
Information on the Multistate Performance Test (MPT), Multistate Essay Exam (MEE), and Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) can be viewed at http://www.ncbex.org/about-ncbe-exams/.
SCHEDULE OF FEES
ALL FEES PAYABLE TO THE MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF BAR ADMISSIONS MUST BE IN THE FORM OF A MONEY ORDER, CASHIER’S CHECK, OR EXACT AMOUNT OF CASH.  PERSONAL OR BUSINESS CHECKS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.  IF PAYING IN CASH YOU MUST BRING THE EXACT AMOUNT AS WE DO NOT KEEP CHANGE.

      Examination Fee............................................................................................................................$825.00
Plus $25.00 application fee.  This examination fee applies to an applicant who has not filed an Application for Registration as a Law Student with this office but is filing a timely APPLICATION FOR ADMISSION BY EXAMINATION by the regular deadline of February 1, 2015 preceding the JULY 2015 Bar Exam.  The total amount due to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions will be $850.00.
Late Examination Fee..................................................................................................................$1,025.00
Plus $25.00 application fee.  This examination fee applies to an applicant who has not filed an Application for Registration as a Law Student with this office but is filing a late APPLICATION FOR ADMISSION BY EXAMINATION between February 2, 2015 and April 1, 2015 preceding the July 2015 Bar Examination.  However; under no circumstances will an application be accepted after the April 1, 2015 late filing deadline.   We do not guarantee that applications filed after the regular filing deadline of February 1, 2015 will be processed in time for the applicant to sit for the July 2015 Bar Examination.  If processing and approval by the Committee on Character and Fitness and the Board cannot be completed prior to the exam for which you are scheduled to sit, you may be automatically deferred to the next scheduled exam.   The total amount due to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions will be $1,050.00.

Re-Examination Fee........................................................................................................................$550.00
Plus $25.00 application fee. This examination fee applies to all applicants who retake the Bar Examination.  The filing deadline for a re-examination application (use the Application Update for the July 2015 Bar Examination) is May 1, 2015 preceding the July 2015 Examination.  The total amount due to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions will be $575.00.

Deferment Fee.................................................................................................................................$325.00
You are allowed one deferment of an examination without charge as long as the written request is received by this office prior to the examination that you are deferring.  Your Application/Application Update must be COMPLETE before you can defer.  Applicants may not defer an incomplete application.  Any requests for deferment must also be in writing; received prior to the examination and must be accompanied by a fee of $325.00 (plus a $25 Application Fee) in the form of cash, cashier's check, or money order made out to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions. The total amount due to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions will be $350.00.

Additional Investigative Fees.........................................................................................DISCRETIONARY
MULTISTATE PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY EXAMINATION (MPRE) None of these fees are payable to Bar Admissions. Fees are subject to change. Applications for the MPRE may be found on-line at http://www.ncbex.org/about-ncbe-exams/mpre/.  (Check website for current fees.)

BAR REVIEW INFORMATION
THE MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF BAR ADMISSIONS HAS NO AFFILIATION AND DOES NOT ENDORSE ANY BAR REVIEW COURSE.  (You will need to check with each Bar Review to obtain the current fees and review information as fees are subject to change at their discretion.  None of these fees are payable to MBBA.)

BAR/BRI REVIEW COURSE   


(MBE, Essay, and MPRE Review)

1-800-950-7277

www.barbri.com
KAPLAN - P.M.B.R./MBE REVIEW

(MBE Review only)

1-800-523-0777

www.kaplanpmbr.com
MICROMASH BAR REVIEW


(MBE & MPRE Review only)


1-800-BAR-EXAM. Ext. 323

www.micromashbar.com
REED’S MULTISTATE BAR REVIEW, INC.
(MBE & MPRE Review only)


1-800-852-3926


www.PassYourBar.com

E-mail: HUGHREED@aol.com

BEAT THE BAR.COM STUDY TOOLS


(817) 276-9090


www.beatthebar.com
AMERIBAR BAR REVIEW

(800) 529-2651

www.ameribar.com
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