 SEQ CHAPTER \h \r 1APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION AS A LAW STUDENT

WITH THE MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF BAR ADMISSIONS (MBBA)

General Information, Instructions & Fees
1.  Filing Deadlines:
	October 1

	
	Deadline to file an Application for Registration as a Law Student.  This application is to be completed and filed on or before October 1st following the completion of two (2) semesters of law school and must be accompanied with a fee of $100.00, plus an application fee of $25.00.

***********************************

Any person who does not comply with the above filing deadline shall be permitted to file a late law student application upon payment of a late registration fee of $300.00, plus an application fee of $25.00: provided that the completed application must be filed with the Board on or before March 1st preceding the February examination, or on or before August 1st preceding the July examination for which applicant proposes to sit.


2.  APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION AS A LAW STUDENT - This application is set up specifically for law students filing an application to register as a law student with the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.  Timely filing of your application will save $200.00 in fees.  If you do not complete and file this application within the appropriate time period, you will be required to file a “regular” Bar Examination Application for the examination which you wish to apply and pay the appropriate fees at that time.

3.  Eligibility requirement. – J.D. from ABA approved Law School. To be eligible to sit for the bar examination, you must have received your Juris Doctorate degree from a law school which is provisionally or fully approved by the American Bar Association.  Your law school dean must complete the Certificate of Dean of Law School (Form 14) and attach an official current transcript of your grades with a copy of your law school application attached.  These must be mailed to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions directly from the law school.  
4.  Filing deadline and fees.  The deadline to file an Application for Registration as a Law Student is on or before October 1st, immediately following the completion of the first two semesters of law school and is to be accompanied by a filing fee of $100.00, plus an application fee of $25.00.  Applications filed between October 2nd , immediately following the completion of two semesters of law school and on or before March 1st preceding the February examination, or on or before August 1st preceding the July examination for which applicant proposes to sit, are to be accompanied by a filing fee of $300.00, plus an application fee of $25.00.  "Filed" is defined as the date the application is RECEIVED by the MBBA (not the date it is postmarked) with the correct fee.  (Please note that any time a filing deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a State holiday when the Bar Admissions office is closed, the filing deadline is automatically moved to the next business day.)  All fees must be paid in the form of cashier’s check or money order.  Personal or business checks are not accepted. The required fees may be paid together with the same cashier’s check or money order, made payable to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions. Any application that is not complete within the allotted the will be dismissed. You will be required to file a new application and pay the appropriate fees for the next exam.
For your application to be considered filed, you must complete and submit the following by the filing deadline:
	Check
	Form Number and Title 


	  [   ]
	Law Student Application - Application pages 1-12 (please note pages 2, 3, 11 & 12 must be notarized)


	  [   ]
	Application Filing Fee - and $25.00 application fee in the form of exact cash, certified check, or money order. (the Board of Bar Admissions does not accept credit cards, personal, corporate or law firm checks)  This must be paid at the same time you pay filing fees and may be paid together in one cashier’s check or money order.


	  [   ]
	Index Card (prints on a regular 81/2” x 11” sheet of paper)


	  [   ]
	Fingerprints – Should be submitted with your application.


	  [   ]
	Form 4 - to be filed with Exam Application or Registration as a Law Student (2 pages) – “Status Sheet”


	  [   ]
	Form 6 - Application Forms Filing Checklist

	  [   ]
	Form 2 - Additional Response Page for question #22b (List the states where you’ve held a driver’s license) and/or any other questions which require explanation on the application.



If applicable to you, you must also file the following by the filing deadline:
	Check
	Form Number and Title 


	  [   ]
	Form 36 - Authorization to Release Medical Records (must be notarized)


	  [   ]
	National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) - Request for Preparation of a Character Report



►   Retain a copy of everything filed with the Board of Bar Admissions.
►  All applicants should mail applications well in advance of the filing deadline to allow adequate transit time and plan to file as early as possible to allow time to correct problems. 
►   Applicants must submit any required documents or information necessary to complete the application within 21 business days from the time the application was filed.
5. Where to file:    Submit your application, fee and supporting documents to:


MAIL DELIVERY:



OVERNIGHT OR HAND DELIVERY:

    

Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions

Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions 

    

P. O. Box 1449




New Gartin Justice Building

    

Jackson, MS 39215-1449


450 High Street, Suite 2027








Jackson, MS 39201
6.      Typed answers:  Other than your signature, your answers on the application must be typed.

7.   How to answer the questions:   Answer all questions fully and frankly. If a question does not apply, so indicate. Do not leave any questions blank unless specifically authorized by the question. You must attach a narrative response to any appropriate question (e.g. to explain a student loan default disclosed).

8.   Complete answers:   If a question requires you to list information, be certain to provide all the information requested. Do not merely refer to attached documents. You must respond to the question as asked. 

9.      Complete addresses:   Provide complete addresses (including zip codes) where required. 

10.  Signature/acknowledgment:   The application must be signed and notarized. The application is a sworn statement and is treated as such.

11.  National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) Request for Preparation of a Character Report:   Any applicant who has lived outside the State of Mississippi for six (6) months (either consecutively or cumulatively) or longer after his/her eighteenth (18th) birthday (including residency for educational, employment, or military reasons), must complete a request for preparation of a National Conference of Bar Examiners’ (NCBE) “out-of-state” Character Report and pay a fee to the NCBE. This fee is in addition to fees payable to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions and must be paid separately. To complete the NCBE “out-of-state” character report application, go to the NCBE web site at http://www.ncbex.org. Please read and understand the requirements and instructions of this application.  Support may be reached via the methods listed in the documentation.  Once the application is completed, print an original and have it notarized.  Two copies should be made of the notarized original: one to be filed with the original NCBE application and one for the applicant to keep. The original NCBE application, one copy, and payment to NCBE, must be submitted to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions at the same time the Law Student Application is filed with the correct filing fees payable to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.  Do not include both fees in one payment.  
The fee schedule for an NCBE character report, if applicable, is as follows:

$150.00-  If the applicant is a law student whose request for a character report will be received at the NCBE within 15 months of first enrollment in law school (October 1st, after the completion of two (2) semesters of law school); or
$225.00-  If the applicant is a law student whose request for a character report will be received at the NCBE more than fifteen (15) months of first enrollment in law school (after October 1st).

12.   Acknowledgment of Receipt by MBBA: Notification of receipt of an application will be sent by mail after the application has been preliminarily processed and entered into the exam database.

13.  Correspondence with the MBBA: The status of law student and the tentative date of the applicant’s bar examination (such as, 7/11 or 2/12) should be indicated on all correspondence.

14.  Non-standard Testing: If you have a disability which will require special assistance or accommodations on the bar examination, you must file a completed Petition for Non-Standard Testing at the time you file your Application Update right before the exam at which you are scheduled to sit.  It should not be included with the Application for Registration as a Law Student. (The Application Update is due September 1st prior to a February Bar Exam or February 1st prior to a July Bar Exam.)  These forms have been provided in a separate link on the MBBA website.  
15.   Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination/MPRE:  You must complete page 2 of the Application for Registration as a Law Student, indicating the MPRE for which you sat/will sit.  As a mandatory condition for admission to the Mississippi Bar by examination, each applicant must achieve a scaled score of not less than 75 on the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) administered by the ACT.  This score must be achieved on the MPRE not more than twenty-four (24) months before or twelve (12) months after the date of administration of the Mississippi Bar Examination at which the applicant achieves a passing result.  It shall be the responsibility of each applicant to register and take the MPRE, and request that his/her scores be furnished to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions. The MPRE may be taken before or after the administration of the Mississippi Bar Examination at which an applicant proposes to sit; however, applicants are strongly encouraged to take the MPRE before taking the Mississippi Bar Examination, since no applicant will receive a "certificate of eligibility for admission" until the Board receives the certification of the applicant's achieving the said minimum scaled score on the MPRE.  Keep in mind that the MPRE score is only valid for a period of twenty-four (24) months prior to the bar examination on which you achieve a passing score, therefore you will not want to take the MPRE too far in advance.  If you have not taken or must retake the MPRE, you may register on-line at http://www.act.org/mpre.
16.  Standards for Disqualification of Applicant:  The Board calls to your attention Rule VIII, Section 6, of the Rules Governing Admission to the Mississippi Bar which sets forth the standards for disqualification of an applicant.  The Board recommends that you review these carefully. The Rules Governing Admission to the Mississippi Bar can be viewed at http://www.mssc.state.ms.us/baradmissions.   
17. Selective Service Registration:  You can obtain information on the registration requirements and obtain your registration number at http://www.sss.gov. In brief, men born from March 29, 1957 to December 31, 1959 were never required to register because the registration program was not in operation at the time they turned 18. The requirement to register was reinstated in 1980 and applies to all men born on or after January 1, 1960.

Information on the Multistate Performance Test (MPT), Multistate Essay Exam (MEE), and Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) and Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) can be viewed at http://www.ncbex.org.  Once you get to the web page, you will find in the left hand column a section labeled Multistate Tests where you will find an individual link for each of these exams that you can click on for more information.

SCHEDULE OF FEES

This office answers numerous questions concerning the fees which applicants will be required to pay either to this office, bar review courses, the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE), or to the different courts during the swearing-in ceremony.  The following is a synopsis of these fees. Please review the schedule BEFORE YOU CALL. If you are still unsure of what fee to file with a particular application, then call us and we will assist you in determining the appropriate fee(s) you owe.  Please be aware that fees charged by the various bar review courses, the NCBE, and the various courts are subject to change at their discretion.
ALL FEES PAYABLE TO THE MISSISSIPPI BOARD OF BAR ADMISSIONS MUST BE IN THE FORM OF MONEY ORDER, CASHIER’S CHECK OR CASH.  PERSONAL OR BUSINESS CHECKS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.   IF PAYING IN CASH YOU MUST BRING THE EXACT AMOUNT.

       Application for Registration as a Law Student...........................................................$100.00
Total fee for this filing is $125.00.  This $100.00 fee, plus an application fee of $25.00, applies to an applicant who files an Application Registration as a Law Student on or before October 1st immediately following the completion of two semesters of law school.
Late Application for Registration as a Law Student...................................................$300.00
Total fee for this filing is $325.00.  Any person who does not comply with the above filing deadline shall be permitted to file a “late law student application” upon payment of a late registration fee of $300.00, plus an application fee of $25.00: provided; however, that the completed application must be filed with the Board on or before March 1st preceding a February examination application filing deadline, or on or before August 1st preceding a July examination application filing deadline.
Application Update Examination Fee (plus an application fee of $25.00)...................$525.00
Total due for this filing is $550.00. This fee applies to an applicant who previously filed an Application for Registration as a Law Student and is filing a timely Application Update by the appropriate filing deadline (September 1st for a February Exam or February 1st for a July Exam) for the bar examination for which you intend to sit.  This is the final application due to MBBA those applicants who filed an Application for Registration as a Law Student.
Late Application Update Examination Fee (plus an application fee of $25.00)............$725.00
Total due for this filing is $750.00.  This fee applies to an applicant who previously filed an Application for Registration as a Law Student and is filing a late Application Update by the late filing deadline for the bar examination, which is between September 2nd and November 1st preceding the February Bar Exam or between February 2nd and April 1st preceding the July Bar Exam.  This is the final application due to MBBA for a Pre-registered Law Student.

Examination Fee(if you do not register and file as a Law Student).............................$825.00
Total fee for this filing is $850.00.  This fee of $825.00, plus a $25.00 application fee, applies to an applicant who failed to file an Application for Registration as a Law Student with MBBA but is filing a timely examination application, either by September 1st preceding a February Bar Exam or by February 1st preceding a July Bar Exam.

Late Examination Fee....................................................................................................$1,025.00
Total fee for this filing is $1,050.00.  This fee of $1,025.00, plus a $25.00 application fee, applies to an applicant who failed to file an Application for Registration as a Law Student with MBBA but is filing a late long-form examination application, either between September 2nd and November 1st preceding the February Bar Exam or between February 2nd and April 1st preceding the July Bar Exam. However, under no circumstances will an application be accepted if filed after the late filing deadline.  We do not guarantee that applications filed after the regular filing deadlines of September 1st or February 1st will be processed in time for the applicant to sit for that particular exam.  If review and approval by the Committee on Character and Fitness and the Board cannot be completed prior to the exam for which an applicant is scheduled to sit, the applicant may be automatically deferred to the next exam.

Additional Investigative Fees…......................................................................DISCRETIONARY
MULTISTATE PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY EXAMINATION (M.P.R.E.)    
Applications for the MPRE, as well as filing deadlines and fees, are on-line at www.act.org/mpre.
FEES DUE TO THE NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF BAR EXAMINERS (NCBE):
In addition to the fees stated above, applicants in the following categories MUST also complete and submit an application and appropriate filing fee for an out-of-state Character and Fitness investigation by the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE).  This application (the original plus one copy) and fee is in addition to examination applications and fees for the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions which must be in the form of a money order, cashier’s check or exact amount of cash.  NCBE applications and fees are to be mailed to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions, along with your examination application and fees.  Do not mail this application to NCBE.  Applicants should submit the NCBE application and NCBE payment with their MBBA Bar Application and payment to this office.  NCBE Application fees and MBBA Exam Application fees must be paid separately.  Fees payable to NCBE may be in the form of personal check, firm check, or by credit card payment.
Any applicant who has lived outside the state of Mississippi for six (6) months or longer after his/her eighteenth (18th) birthday (including residency for educational, employment, or military reasons), must complete an application for an out-of-state character report and pay a fee to the national conference of bar examiners (NCBE).  (The six month period could be a combination of two or more summers.)  These fees are in addition to the fees set forth in the schedule of fees due to the Mississippi board of bar admissions.  If an NCBE application and payment are required and applicant does not submit both with their Mississippi Bar Examination application and payment, their Bar application will not be processed until the NCBE application and fee are received.
       Category I:   Law Student Registrant...........................................................................$150.00
       Law student whose request for a character report will be received at
                  NCBE within 15 months of first enrollment in law school (after first two

                  (2) semesters of law school).

Category II:  First Bar Examination or Late Law Student Registrant.........................$225.00

1)   Applicant must be anticipated or recent law school graduate; and

2)   Juris Doctor degree was awarded less than one year before this

             application is received at NCBE; and

3)   Not been admitted to the practice of law in any jurisdiction at the time
             this application is filed; or

4) Applicant is a law student whose request for a character report will


  be received at NCBE more than 15 months after first enrollment in 

             law school.
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