Gartin Building Court Room Alcove
Judicial Advisory Study Committee

Judicial Advisory Study Committee

The Mississippi Legislature created the Judicial Advisory Study Committee in 1993 with the adoption of Mississippi Code Section 9-21-21. The Study Committee makes policy recommendations to the Supreme Court and the Legislature for improvements affecting the administration of justice.

The Judicial Advisory Study Committee is made up of 21 voting members and two non-voting members.

Voting Members   Non-voting Members
Chairman, Court of Appeals Judge Tyree Irving, Greenwood
Vice-chair, Circuit Judge Lillie Blackmon Sanders, Natchez
attorney Lance Bonner, Jackson
businessman Howard Catchings, Jackson
attorney Gerald Cruthird, Picayune
Chancery Judge Sebe Dale Jr., Columbia
retired Chancery Judge Norman Gillespie, Oxford
Lauderdale County Circuit Clerk Donna Jill Johnson, Meridian
Chancery Court Administrator Noelle McKinnon, Laurel
Julie McLemore, Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce, Jackson
businessman Jimmy Murphy, Booneville
Humphreys County Circuit Clerk Timaka Jones, Belzoni
Lela Keys, Delta Community Partners in Care, Clarksdale
Supreme Court Justice Leslie D. King, Greenville
Chancery Judge Jacqueline Mask, Tupelo
Hinds County Chancery Judge Denise Owens, Jackson
attorney J. Scott Newton, Jackson
Adams County Chancery Clerk Thomas O’Beirne, Natchez
Circuit Judge Lamar Pickard, Hazlehurst
attorney Alfred Rhodes Jr., Jackson
businesswoman Robin Robinson, Laurel
Harrison County Justice Court Judge Bruce Strong, Biloxi
Rankin County Circuit Clerk Carol Swilley, Brandon
attorney Aleita Sullivan, Mendenhall
retired Rep. Robert Vince, Sandy Hook
Lauderdale County Court Judge Veldore Young, Meridian
  Senate Judiciary A Committee Chairman Sen. Joey Fillingane of Sumrall
House of Representatives Judiciary En Banc Committee Chair Rep. Edward Blackmon Jr. of Canton