Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Myers named to Committee on Continuing Judicial Education

April 23, 2002

Administrative Office of Courts

Mississippi Supreme Court Chief Justice Edwin L. Pittman has appointed Court of Appeals Judge William H. Myers to serve on the Committee on Continuing Judicial Education.

Pittman, in making the appointment, said, "He is doing a good job at the Court of Appeals. I look forward to involving him in other leadership roles."

The six-member committee acts as an advisory group to suggest study areas for judges' continuing education seminars, said Supreme Court Justice Chuck Easley, committee chairman.

Myers said, "Having been a trial judge and now an appellate judge, I think that gives me a pretty good background in trying to select subject matter and make it interesting."

Continuing legal education seminars for judges are arranged and conducted by the Mississippi Judicial College, which is located on the University of Mississippi campus in Oxford. The Mississippi Trial and Appellate Judges' Spring Conference is April 24-26 at Isle of Capri Resort in Biloxi.

Judge Myers will serve on the Committee on Continuing Judicial Education through July 31, 2004.

The committee includes a chancery judge, a circuit judge and a county judge selected by their respective judicial conferences and appointed by the chief justice of the Supreme Court. The chief justice appoints one member each from the Supreme Court and Court of Appeals. The chief justice serves as an ex-officio member.

Other committee members are Justice Easley, the chair; Pittman as ex-officio member; Chancery Judge Kennie E. Middleton of the 17th Chancery District, which includes Adams, Claiborne, Jefferson and Wilkinson counties; Circuit Judge Billy Joe Landrum of the 18th Circuit District of Jones County; and Harrison County Judge Michael H. Ward.

Judge Myers was appointed to the Court of Appeals on June 5, 2000. He previously served eight years as chancellor for the 16th Chancery Court District, which includes Jackson, George and Greene Counties. While he was chancellor, he served as secretary, vice-chairman and chairman of the Chancery Judges Conference.

For more information, contact Beverly Pettigrew Kraft, court public information officer, at 601-354-7452.