Circuit Judges Conference leaders assume duties

April 30, 2002

Administrative Office of Courts

Circuit Judge Robert G. Evans of Raleigh began his duties as chairman of the Conference of Circuit Judges last week at the Mississippi Trial and Appellate Judges Spring Conference in Biloxi.

Circuit Judge Stephen B. Simpson of Gulfport is vice-chair of the Conference of Circuit Judges, and Circuit Judge Ann H. Lamar of Senatobia is treasurer.

Evans, who served as vice-chair for the past year, succeeds Circuit Judge Kathy King Jackson of Pascagoula. During an April 25 luncheon, Evans praised Jackson as "among the best chairs we've ever had." He presented Jackson with a plaque commemorating her service.

Judicial conferences meet periodically to discuss legal and judicial issues which arise in their courts. They make recommendations on issues affecting their courts.

Evans since 1991 has served as judge of the 13th Circuit District, which includes Covington, Jasper, Simpson and Smith Counties.

Simpson since December 2000 has served as a judge for the 2nd Circuit District, which includes Hancock, Harrison and Stone counties.

Lamar since November 2001 has served as a judge for the 17th Circuit District, which includes DeSoto, Panola, Tallahatchie, Tate and Yalobusha counties.

For more information, contact Beverly Pettigrew Kraft, court public information officer, at 601-354-7452.