Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Five appointed to lawyer disciplinary Complaint Tribunal

September 12, 2002

Justices of the Mississippi Supreme Court have named three new members to the lawyer disciplinary Complaint Tribunal and reappointed two veteran members.

New appointees are Jackson attorney Lewis Bell, selected by Supreme Court Justice James W. Smith Jr.; 12th District Circuit Judge Richard W. McKenzie of Hattiesburg, selected by Chief Justice Edwin L. Pittman; and attorney James Reeves of Biloxi, selected by Supreme Court Justice Oliver Diaz.

Supreme Court Justice George C. Carlson Jr. selected Columbus attorney Jack Hayes Jr. to serve a second term on the Bar Complaint Tribunal. Supreme Court Justice William L. Waller Jr. selected 21st District Circuit Judge Jannie M. Lewis of Lexington to serve a second term.

Twenty-seven lawyers and judges serve staggered three-year terms on the Complaint Tribunal. Pittman signed an order recently making the five appointments. All the new appointees's terms expire Aug. 31, 2005.

Members of the Complaint Tribunal are selected by the nine members of the Supreme Court from each of the three Supreme Court districts. There are a total of nine judges and 18 lawyers on the Complaint Tribunal, said Michael B. Martz, general counsel for the Mississippi Bar.

The Tribunal sits in panels of three, with each panel comprised of two attorneys and one judge, according to Rule 3 of the Rules of Discipline for the Mississippi Bar. A panel hears evidence in attorney disciplinary proceedings and makes recommendations to the Mississippi Supreme Court.