Memorial service honors deceased Mississippi lawyers

October 14, 2003

Lawyers, judges, friends and family gathered Tuesday in Jackson for a memorial service for 56 Mississippi lawyers who died during the past year.

Mississippi Bar President Richard C. Roberts III of Jackson told the crowd gathered in the Old Supreme Court Chambers at the Capitol that the best tribute to those who have died would be for those lawyers in attendance to rededicate themselves to the oath they took to practice law.

Roberts in his eulogy said, "We are all eyewitnesses to their legacy of service and devotion to duty." He said, "I count it as a blessing to have known them and to have been touched by their lives."

Chief Justice Edwin L. Pittman presided over the ceremony. Fifty-six slender white tapers were lit as the names of the deceased were read.

Mississippi Supreme Court Justice George C. Carlson Jr. of Batesville in the response for the court said, "Of those names read, I heard the names of a childhood friend, a college classmate, law school classmates, former trial judges, public servants, and those who went quietly about their way on a daily basis in their respective communities, practicing law, helping people, doing good, and seeking no recognition for their efforts."

Justice Carlson said, "The lawyers we remember and honor today recognized that in spite of the negative publicity inflicted on the legal profession, our profession was founded as, and continues to be, a service profession, dedicated to service to our citizens."

The memorial service is a 96-year-old tradition, Roberts said.

A list of those who have died follows.

  City Bar Admission
George Matthew Arthur Jackson, MS 1966
Larry Liddell Austin Hattiesburg, MS 1974
William Thames Bailey, Sr. Lucedale, MS 1954
James Allen Boone Jackson, MS 1949
Jack Williams Brand Newton, MS 1960
William J. Cole, III Jackson, MS 1974
Kenneth Earl Crawford, Jr. Mount Olive, MS 1978
L. Anthony Deal Memphis, TN 1983
Joseph Turpin Drake, Jr. Port Gibson, MS 1938
Gerald Raymond Emil Gulfport, MS 1973
Anthony Thomas Farese Ashland, MS 1956
William Weems Gates Jackson, MS 2002
John Evans Gough Brandon, MS 1976
Baxter Kendall Griffin Crystal Springs, MS 1991
Wallace R. Gunn Hattiesburg, MS 1947
Charles C. Hairston, Jr. Jackson, MS 1941
John Thomas Haltom, Sr. Indianola, MS 1968
Richard W. Hamilton Pascagoula, MS 1976
Nolan Sidney Harper Jackson, MS 1965
Benjamin F. Hilbun, Jr. Starkville, MS 1960
John Sharp Holmes, Sr. Yazoo City, MS 1938
Joe Jack Hurst Jackson, MS 1950
Jerry L. Hutcherson Pascagoula, MS 1977
Ransom Powell Jones Ocean Springs, MS 1971
Abbey Wailes Magruder, Jr. Jackson, MS 1957
William Oliver Marble Jackson, MS 1974
Curtis W. McKewen Jackson, MS 1952
Randall Lynn Miller Laurel, MS 1977
Eula Bonnie Mills Carthage, MS 1950
Benjamin Ligon Owen Columbus, MS 1947
James Z. Palmertree Clinton, MS 1969
Samuel Ira Pittman, Jr. Greenville, MS 1951
Kenneth Bell Raigins Jackson, MS 1975
William W. Ramsey Vicksburg, MS 1951
James Keith Roberts Gautier, MS 1992
Thomas N. Roberts, Jr. Gulfport, MS 1950
James Hal Ross Brandon, MS 1972
Charles William Satterfield Jackson, MS 1966
Stone M. Smith Biloxi, MS 1952
Tatum Reagan Stacy Jackson, MS 1961
Kenneth Keith Steiner, Jr. Natchez, MS 1971
Joseph Taylor Stephens Jackson, MS 1969
L. Jack Stewart Picayune, MS 1953
Thomas M. Tann, Sr. Terry, MS 1952
Robert E. Taylor, Jr. Wiggins, MS 1983
Everette Verhine Vicksburg, MS 1974
William Henson Ward Starkville, MS 1946
Calvin Lowell Wells Jackson, MS 1949
John Wallace Whitten, Jr. Sumner, MS 1940
Tim Fisher Wilson Denver, CO 1984
William Anderson Wiltshire McComb, MS 1955
Sherwood Willing Wise Jackson, MS 1934
George Franklin Woodliff Jackson, MS 1938
Thomas H. Woodrow Madison, MS 1953
Frank Osborne Wynne, Jr. Merigold, MS 1950
Stanford Young Waynesboro, MS 1950