Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Foreign judges to visit Administrative Office of Courts

October 4, 2004

Judges, court staff, attorneys and a journalist representing 18 countries will visit the Administrative Office of Courts on Tuesday, Oct. 5, at 1:30 p.m.

Kevin Lackey, director of the Administrative Office of Courts, will give the group an overview of the Mississippi trial and appellate court system. The media is invited. The AOC is located in the Court of Appeals Building at 656 N. State St. in Jackson.

The group on Monday visited the State Capitol, the Mississippi Bar and the Mississippi College School of Law.

Participants are invited to the United States under the auspices of the U.S. State Department International Visitor Leadership Program. Their visit to Jackson is being coordinated by the International Visitors Center of Jackson.

Participants include:
Albania – Mr. Sokol Como, Chief Judge, Tirana Court of First Instance;
Bulgaria – Mr. Vladimir Spassov Yordanov, Deputy Chairperson, Sofia Regional Court;
Cambodia – Mr. Pich Saly Pen, Judge, Ministry of Justice;
Croatia – Mr. Dusan Miljus, Senior Correspondent, Crime and Court Proceedings Section, Vecernji List Daily, Zagreb;
Czech Republic – Mr. Milan Vybulka, Department of Organization and Supervision, Ministry of Justice;
India – Mr. Gowthaman Thirumalai Rajan, Advocate, High Court of Madras, Chennai; Mr. Arvind Verma, Advocate, Supreme Court of India;
Jamaica – Ms. Marilyn Hope Dunbar, Director, Criminal & Civil Justice Administration;
Kuwait – Mr. Jamal A.M.E.N. Al Attalattal, Attorney, Court of First Instance, Kuwait Ministry of Justice;
Lithuania – Ms. Laima Cekeliene, Chief Prosecutor, International Relations and Legal Assistance Division, Prosecutor General’s Office of Lithuania;
Malawi – Ms. Dorothy Alethea Degabriele, Principal Resident Magistrate, High Court, Malawi;
Malaysia – Mr. Yeo Yang Poh, Vice President, Malaysian Bar; Mr. Sankara Narayanan Sankaran Nair, Advocate and Solicitor, S.N. Nair and Partners, Kuala Lumpur;
Nigeria – Ms. Uju Ikeazor, Director, Legal Aid Council of Nigeria;
Pakistan – Mr. Muhammad Majid Bashir, Deputy Director, Instruction and Research, Federal Judicial Academy, Islamabad;
Qatar – Mr. Rashid Nasser Al-Bader, Deputy Chairman, Court of Appeal, Ministry of Justice; Nabeel Mehdar Al Saadi, Judge, Supreme Court;
Sri Lanka – W. Jude Shavindra Fernando, Senior State Counsel, Attorney General’s Department;
Swaziland – Mr. Sabelo Philemon Mngomezulu, Principal Magistrate, High Court of Swaziland;
Uganda – Mr. Precious Beinga Ngabirano, Acting Deputy Registrar, High Court of Uganda;
Yemen – Mr. Badr Rageh Saeed, Supreme Court.