Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Conference of Circuit Judges selects officers

May 2, 2005

Circuit Judge Dale Harkey of Pascagoula was elected chairman of the Conference of Circuit Judges on Thursday, April 28, during the Mississippi Trial and Appellate Judges Spring Conference.

The conference elected Judge Ann H. Lamar of Senatobia as vice-chair during the meeting in Gulfport. Judge Betty W. Sanders of Greenwood was elected secretary-treasurer. They will serve in their respective conference offices for one year.

Judicial conferences meet periodically to discuss legal and judicial issues which arise in their courts. They make recommendations on issues affecting their courts.

Judge Harkey said, “I deem it an honor to be chosen as chairman and I hope to contribute to the ongoing efforts of our conference to improve the judiciary and the public’s perception of impartiality of justice in Mississippi.”

The conference presented a plaque to Circuit Judge Samac Richardson of Brandon in appreciation for his work as conference chair during the previous year. Judge Richardson serves the 20th Circuit District of Madison and Rankin counties.

Judge Harkey was elected as a judge of the 19th Circuit District in 1998. The district includes George, Greene and Jackson counties.

Judge Lamar was appointed to the 17th Circuit District Court in 2001. The district includes DeSoto, Panola, Tallahatchie, Tate & Yalobusha counties.

Judge Sanders serves the 4th Circuit, which includes LeFlore, Sunflower and Washington counties. She was elected in 1994.