Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Commission on Judicial Performance has new leaders, new members
January 26, 2009

Circuit Judge Henry L. Lackey of Calhoun City became chair of the Mississippi Commission on Judicial Performance on Jan.9. He has served on the commission for five years.

Chancery Judge H. David Clark II of Forest is the new vice-chair of the commission. Judge Clark just completed a six-year term as an alternate member of the commission.

The chair and vice-chair are elected by the members of the commission.

New members of the commission are Lamar County Court Judge William E. Andrews III of Purvis and Cornelia Gayden of Summit.

New alternate members of the commission are Chancery Judge Vicki Barnes of Vicksburg and Harrison County Court Judge Robin Alfred Midcalf of Gulfport.

Judges Andrews, Barnes and Midcalf are beginning six-year terms on the commission. Gayden’s term will expire in December 2012. She fills the unexpired term of former commission lay member Allegra Brigham of Columbus.

Judges having completed six-year terms on the commission in December 2008 are Chancery Judge Patricia D. Wise of Jackson, former commission chair; Lauderdale County Court Judge Frank M. Coleman of Meridian, former vice-chair; and Lee County Court Judge Charles R. Brett of Tupelo, former alternate member.

Judge Lackey has served as a circuit judge in the Third Circuit District since 1993. The district is made up of Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Lafayette, Marshall, Tippah and Union counties.

Judge Clark has served as chancery judge of the Second Chancery District of Scott, Newton and Jasper counties since 1989.

Judge Barnes has served as a chancery judge in the Ninth Chancery District since 1995. The district includes Humphreys, Issaquena, Sharkey, Sunflower, Warren and Washington counties.

Judge Andrews has served as the County Court judge for Lamar County since January 2008. Judge Midcalf has served as a Harrison County Court judge since 1999.

Gayden, a lay member of the commission, is director of the Tiger Activity Complex for the McComb School District and chair of the McComb Mayor’s Youth Council.

The Commission on Judicial Performance investigates allegations of judicial misconduct and makes recommendations for discipline to the Mississippi Supreme Court. The Commission includes seven members and seven alternates. An alternate takes the place of a member who is not able to participate in a particular case.