Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Judge Margaret Carey-McCray named Bar Foundation Fellow

April 30, 2014

Circuit Judge Margaret Carey-McCray of Greenville was inducted as a Fellow of the Mississippi Bar Foundation on April 17. Judge Carey-McCray was among 16 inductees recognized at a dinner ceremony at the Old Capitol Inn in Jackson.

Being named a Fellow is the highest honor given by the Bar Foundation. Recipients reflect the highest level of competence, professionalism and leadership, and are respected in their communities, said Bar Foundation President Stephen Rosenblatt of Ridgeland.

Judge Carey-McCray said, “It is an honor to be recognized by your peers. I’m appreciative of the nomination and I thank the Foundation for honoring me with induction into its Fellowship. Whatever I’ve done or if I’ve done anything that’s deserving, it’s been with the help, support and inspiration of many people.”

Former Gov. William F. Winter, who has been a powerful force for public education and racial reconciliation, was honored with the Bar Foundation Professionalism Award. Winter has been a member of the Bar for 65 years. “I have regarded it as a noble profession,” he said. He began his career of public service in 1947, while still in law school, with his election to the House of Representatives.

Tiffany M. Graves of Jackson, executive director and general counsel of the Mississippi Volunteer Lawyers Project, was honored with the Law-Related Education Award.

Others inducted a Fellows of the Bar Foundation are: Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann Jr., Jackson; Mississippi College School of Law Dean James H. Rosenblatt, Ridgeland; U. S. Magistrate Judge Michael T. Parker, Hattiesburg; former U.S. Attorney J. Bradley Pigott, Jackson; former District Attorney Lawrence L. Little, Oxford; Tom P. Calhoun III and John P. Henson of Greenwood; Sharon F. Bridges and W. McDonald Nichols of Jackson; Walter W. Dukes and William L. McDonough Jr. of Gulfport; Robert D. Gholson, Laurel; Charles F. Johnson III, R. David Kaufman and Ann P. Veazey of Ridgeland.

Judge Carey-McCray has served on the Fourth Circuit Court since January 1999. The district includes Leflore, Sunflower and Washington counties.

She helped establish the first Drug Court in the Mississippi Delta in 2002 and assisted in the founding of a juvenile program, the Washington County Youth Drug Court, which began accepting participants in 2010. In 2011, the Mississippi Association of Drug Court Professionals named her Drug Court Professional of the Year.

She is past president of the Magnolia Bar Association. She has received many honors, including Georgetown University Law Center’s inaugural Justice Thurgood Marshal Medal of Justice, The Spelman College National Community Service Award and the W.K. Kellogg National Leadership Fellowship.

Judge Carey-McCray is also involved in community service off the bench. Through her involvement with local theater productions, she has introduced Drug Court clients to fine arts and positive self-expression. She served as the first chair of the advisory board of the Salvation Army's Catherine Booth Center, a domestic violence shelter and rape crisis center. She chaired the steering committee of Our House.

She earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Michigan at Flint, a law degree from the University of Florida and a Master of Laws from the Georgetown University Law Center.