Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Judicial conferences elect officers

May 12, 2014

The Conferences of Chancery, Circuit and County Court Judges elected officers April 24 during the Trial and Appellate Judges Conference in Biloxi.

Conference of Chancery Judges officers are Chancellor Percy Lynchard Jr. of Hernando, chairman; Chancellor Vicki Cobb of Batesville, vice-chair; and Chancellor William Singletary of Clinton, secretary-treasurer.

Conference of Circuit Judges officers are Circuit Judge Smith Murphey V of Batesville, chair; Circuit Judge Michael Taylor of Brookhaven, vice-chair; and Circuit Judge Prentiss G. Harrell of Hattiesburg, secretary-treasurer.

Conference of County Court Judges officers are Rankin County Court Judge Kent McDaniel, chair; Washington County Court Judge Vernita King Johnson, vice-chair; and Harrison County Court Judge Robin Alfred Midcalf, secretary-treasurer.

Retired Circuit Judge Samac Richardson of Brandon was elected chair of the Conference of Senior Status Judges.

Judicial conferences meet in April and October for continuing education training, and periodically during other times of the year to discuss legal and judicial issues. They make recommendations on issues affecting their courts.