Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Dec. 17 retirement reception to honor Judge Cem Morgan

December 10, 2015

Circuit Judge Clarence E. “Cem” Morgan III will be honored Dec. 17 from 4 to 7 p.m. at a retirement reception to be held at the Attala County Courthouse in Kosciusko.

Judge Clarence E. “Cem” Morgan III

Judge Morgan will retire Dec. 31 after serving for 21 year on the state’s Fifth Circuit Court. The district includes Attala, Carroll, Choctaw, Grenada, Montgomery, Webster and Winston counties.

Judge Morgan, a lifelong resident of Kosciusko, followed in the footsteps of his father, the late Circuit Judge Clarence E. Morgan Jr., who died in office in December 1992. The younger Judge Morgan was elected as circuit judge in November 1994 and took office in January 1995. He previously served as county attorney for Attala County for six years, and as Kosciusko municipal judge for 14 years.

Judge Morgan has been a leader of the bench and bar. He served as chair of Mississippi Conference of Circuit Judges 2007-2008. He was a member of the Commission on Judicial Performance 1998 to 2003, and served as chair of the judicial watchdog agency 2002-2003. He was a member of the Board of Commissioners of the Mississippi Bar 1987-1990. The Mississippi Court Administrators Association honored him with the 2015 Justice Achievement Award.

Judge Morgan earned a Bachelor of Arts and a law degree from the University of Mississippi. He served as a judicial law clerk for Judge J. P. Coleman on the Fifth U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals 1970-71.