Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Mississippi Association of Drug Court Professionals elects officers

September 2, 2016

Fourth Circuit Drug Court Coordinator Tamela Hardy of Greenville is the new president of the Mississippi Association of Drug Court Professionals.

MADCP elected officers Aug. 25 during its Twelfth Annual Conference in Tupelo. Officers will serve two-year terms.

Hardy has a long history of service with MADCP. She previously served as vice-president, secretary and at-large member of the MADCP Board of Directors. She was a case manager for the 4th Circuit Drug Court before she became Drug Court coordinator in the district that includes Leflore, Sunflower and Washington counties.

Lucy Davenport of Hattiesburg, Drug Court coordinator for the 12th Circuit Drug Court, is the new vice president of MADCP. Rankin County Juvenile Drug Court Coordinator Paul Bowen is MADCP secretary. Cleveland attorney Arthur Calderon is treasurer.

New MADCP Board of Directors members are Maryam Husband of Vicksburg, coordinator of the 9th Circuit Drug Court, and Madison County Juvenile Drug Court Coordinator Amy Nisbett. Hinds County Justice Court Judge Frank Sutton, who completed two years of service as MADCP president, also became a member of the board.

MADCP is made up of about 300 members, including judges, drug court staff, law enforcement, correctional officers and drug treatment providers.

Drug courts seek to rehabilitate drug-using offenders through drug treatment and intense supervision with frequent court appearances and drug testing. Mississippi currently has 42 drug courts. About 3,450 people are enrolled in drug courts statewide.