Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Three new members appointed to Commission on Children’s Justice

October 6, 2016

The Mississippi Supreme Court on Oct. 3 appointed three new members to the Commission on Children’s Justice.

New members are attorney Lyndsy Irwin of Jackson, who works for the Child Support Division of the Mississippi Department of Human Services; attorney Craig Robertson of Ridgeland, co-founder of the private adoption agency 200 Million Flowers; and Dr. Scott Benton of Jackson, chief of the Division of Pediatric Forensic Medicine at University of Mississippi Medical Center and director of the Children’s Justice Center.

Dr. Benton takes the Commission position formerly held by Dr. John Pruett, who has moved. Irwin and Robertson take newly created positions. Their terms are for two years.

Mississippi Supreme Court Justice Dawn Beam, co-chair of the Commission on Children’s Justice, said that the new appointments will expand the knowledge and expertise of the Commission as it works to improve the lives of Mississippi’s children.

“These three people are on the front lines of making a difference in the lives of our children every day,” Justice Beam said. “We are excited about adding them to this commission.”

The Commission since its inception in 2006 has worked to develop a statewide, comprehensive approach to improving the child welfare system. The Commission works to coordinate the three branches of government in assessing the impact of government actions on children who are abused or neglected. The Commission expects to recommend changes to improve children’s safety, strengthen and support families and promote public trust and confidence in the child welfare system.