Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Sentencing Disparity Task Force to meet July 26 in Jackson

July 25, 2018

The Sentencing Disparity Task Force will meet at 10:30 a.m. July 26 at the Mississippi Supreme Court.

The 2018 Mississippi Legislature created the Task Force. House Bill 387, Section 8, states, “The purpose of the task force is to study and report the existence of possible disparity in sentencing for crimes as documented by the Mississippi Department of Corrections in order to promote the interest of uniform justice throughout the State of Mississippi.”

Supreme Court Chief Justice Bill Waller Jr. will convene the first meeting of the Task Force. A chairman and vice-chair are expected to be elected by the Task Force at the first meeting. Phillip W. Broadhead, clinical professor of law and director of the Criminal Appeals Clinic at the University of Mississippi School of Law, is expected to make a presentation about statutory sentencing guidelines.

Members of the Task Force include Justice Robert P. Chamberlin, Circuit Judge Claiborne “Buddy” McDonald, State Defender André de Gruy, Sen. Briggs Hopson, Sen. Dennis Debar, Rep. Kevin Horan, Rep. Bill Kinkade, Kenny Ellis of the Lieutenant Governor’s office, Special Assistant Attorney General Stanley Alexander, District Attorney Michael Guest, Special Assistant Attorney General Darrell C. Baughn, Parole Board Chairman Steve Pickett and businessman Roy Dixon.