Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Chancellor Tennison, Circuit Judge White to take oaths Dec. 28 in Booneville

December 18, 2018

An investiture ceremony for new Chancellor Bradley D. Tennison and new Circuit Judge John R. White will be held Dec. 28 at 10 a.m. at Northeast Mississippi Community College, 101 Cunningham Boulevard in Booneville.

The ceremony will be held in the Claude Wright Room at the Frank Haney Union.

Chancellor John Hatcher will swear in Judge Tennison as his successor. Circuit Judge Jim S. Pounds will swear in Judge White to take his place. Judge Hatcher and Judge Pounds, who each served for 12 years, will retire Dec. 31.

Judge Tennison previously served as Prentiss County Youth Court referee and as a public defender in Prentiss County. He is a graduate of the University of Mississippi and the University of Mississippi School of Law.

Judge White was elected without opposition. He has practiced law for 30 years. His private practice has been primarily criminal law. He is a graduate of the University of Mississippi.

The eight-county First Chancery District includes Alcorn, Itawamba, Lee, Monroe, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Tishomingo and Union counties. The seven-county First Circuit Court includes Alcorn, Itawamba, Lee, Monroe, Pontotoc, Prentiss and Tishomingo counties.

A list of investiture ceremonies around the state is at this link: