Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Chancellor Robert Logan to take oath Jan. 4 in Decatur

December 20, 2018

An investiture ceremony for new Chancellor Robert Logan will be held Jan. 4 at 3 p.m. at the Newton County Courthouse in Decatur.

Mississippi Supreme Court Chief Justice Bill Waller Jr. will administer the oath of office.

Chancellor Logan was elected without opposition in November to the 2nd Chancery District judgeship in which Chancellor H. David Clark II has served since 1989. Judge Clark, of Forest, will retire Dec. 31.

The 2nd Chancery District includes Newton, Jasper and Scott counties.

Judge Logan previously served as attorney for the city of Newton, the Newton Municipal School District and East Central Community College and maintained a private law practice. He is a former member of the Board of Bar Commissioners. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in political science from the University of Mississippi and a law degree from the University of Mississippi School of Law.

Across the state, 42 new judges will take their oaths of office in ceremonies scheduled during the next three weeks. New judges include three new Court of Appeals judges, 20 new Chancery Court judges, nine new Circuit Court judges and 10 new County Court judges. New judicial terms begin on Jan. 1, 2019.

A list of investiture ceremonies around the state is at this link: