Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Supreme Court reappoints six members to Access to Justice Commission

July 31, 2019

The Mississippi Supreme Court recently reappointed six veteran members and two new members to the Access to Justice Commission.

Chancellor Jacqueline Mask of Tupelo and attorney Rodger Wilder of Gulfport, Commission co-chairs, and Justice Dawn Beam of Sumrall, Court of Appeals Presiding Judge Virginia C. Carlton of Jackson, Chancellor Margaret Alfonso of Gulfport and Chancellor Deborah Gambrell of Hattiesburg were reappointed.

New members are Sen. Derrick T. Simmons of Greenville and attorney Ammie T. Nguyen of Jackson. Sen. Simmons replaces Rep. David Baria of Bay St. Louis on the Commission, and Nguyen replaces attorney Edderek “Beau” Cole of Jackson.

Chief Justice Mike Randolph signed the order July 18 on behalf of the nine-member Supreme Court. The order states, “The Supreme court offers its sincere thanks to those retiring Commissioners for their dedication to access for all persons to the courts of Mississippi.”

Appointees’ three-year terms will end June 30, 2022.

The Mississippi Supreme Court created the Access to Justice Commission in June 2006. The Commission works to develop a unified strategy to improve access to justice in civil legal proceedings for the poor in Mississippi.