Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Supreme Court makes appointments to Bar Complaint Tribunal

August 26, 2019

The Mississippi Supreme Court has appointed four new members to the Bar Complaint Tribunal, and reappointed five members.

Appointments to Bar Complaint Tribunal

New appointees include Hinds County Court Judge Johnnie McDaniels of Jackson, attorney Mack A. Reeves of Jackson, attorney Renee M. Porter of Columbia and Rep. Henry B. “Hank” Zuber III of Ocean Springs.

Chief Justice Mike Randolph issued an order on Aug. 23 reappointing Tribunal members including Circuit Judge Prentiss Harrell of Hattiesburg and Circuit Judge Andrew K. Howorth of Oxford and attorneys John R. Reeves of Jackson, Austin Vollor of Starkville and Daniel H. Sparks of Belmont.

Judge McDaniels will take the Bar Complaint Tribunal position previously held by his colleague, Hinds County Court Judge Melvin V. Priester Sr. Mack Reeves will replace Willie Griffin of Greenville on the Tribunal. Porter will replace L. Clark Hicks Jr. of Hattiesburg, and Zuber will replace Joseph Kelly of Liberty.

The new terms on the Tribunal will begin on Sept. 1 and conclude on Aug. 31, 2022.

Members of the Complaint Tribunal hear and decide disciplinary matters arising from complaints against attorneys. Discipline may range from private reprimand to disbarment. Decisions from the Complaint Tribunal may be appealed to the Mississippi Supreme Court. Actions by the Complaint Tribunal are final if not appealed.

The 27-member Complaint Tribunal is made up of nine judges and 18 lawyers selected by the nine members of the Supreme Court from three Supreme Court districts. The Complaint Tribunal sits in panels of three, with each panel comprised of two attorneys and one judge.