Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Supreme Court makes appointments to Bar Complaint Tribunal

August 18, 2020

Rankin County New Courthouse

The Mississippi Supreme Court has appointed three new members to the Bar Complaint Tribunal, and reappointed three members.

New appointees include Circuit Judge Claiborne “Buddy” McDonald IV of Picayune and attorneys George Philip Schrader IV of Vicksburg and J. Rhea Tannehill Jr. of Oxford.

Chief Justice Mike Randolph issued an order on Aug. 14 reappointing Tribunal members including Circuit Judge Steve S. Ratcliff III of Madison and attorneys Gina B. Tompkins of Biloxi and Taylor A. Heck of Senatobia.

The new terms on the Complaint Tribunal will begin on Sept. 1 and conclude on Aug. 31, 2023.

Judge McDonald will take the Bar Complaint Tribunal position previously held by Circuit Judge David H. Strong Jr. of McComb. Schrader will replace attorney Tonya Powell Franklin of Greenville on the Tribunal. Tannehill will replace attorney Taylor D. Buntin of Southaven on the Tribunal.

Chief Justice Randolph, writing for the unanimous Supreme Court, said, “The Court thanks outgoing members Judge David H. Strong, Jr., Tonya Powell Franklin, and Taylor D. Buntin for their faithful service as members of the Complaint Tribunal.”

Members of the Complaint Tribunal hear and decide disciplinary matters arising from complaints against attorneys. Discipline may range from private reprimand to disbarment. Decisions from the Complaint Tribunal may be appealed to the Mississippi Supreme Court. Actions by the Complaint Tribunal are final if not appealed.

The 27-member Complaint Tribunal is made up of nine judges and 18 lawyers selected by the nine members of the Supreme Court from three Supreme Court districts. The Complaint Tribunal sits in panels of three, with each panel comprised of two attorneys and one judge.