Gartin Building Courtroom with the Great Seal of the State of Mississippi

Virtual Bar Memorial service to be held October 13

October 12, 2020

The Mississippi Supreme Court will host the Mississippi Bar’s annual Memorial Service as a virtual ceremony which will be livestreamed from the Supreme Court at 2 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 13.

The annual ceremony memorializes attorneys who died during the past year. Sixty-nine attorneys will be honored for their careers of service.

Chief Justice Mike Randolph will preside. Mississippi Bar President Jennifer Ingram Johnson will present the eulogy. Chief Justice Randolph will give the response on behalf of the Court. An altered seating arrangement for the justices at the bench will allow for social distancing.

In the past, family and friends have attended in person. This year, due to concerns about COVID-19, a virtual ceremony is being conducted.

The link to the livestream is

Attorneys being memorialized are Lester Alvis, Jr., Jerry Holmes Blount, Howard W. Bowen, Donald W. Boykin, Patrick J. Boyle, retired Court of Appeals Judge Billy G. Bridges, H. D. Brock, Donald V. Burch, Michael D. Caples, retired District Attorney Cono A. Caranna II, Clinton C. Carter, William J. Clayton, Lara Ashley Coleman, Melvin G. Cooper, Kenneth W. Craig, Bradley Dillard, Jonathan Michael Farris, Michael R. Farrow, Cecil A. Ford, Albert J. Gamot, Jr., John M. Gardner, Leslie C. Gates, Gary L. Geeslin, Charles E. Gibson III, John M. Gilmore, Don O. Gleason, Lee P. Gore, J. Tyson Graham, William E. Hathorn, Elizabeth J. Hicks, Michael C. Hill, Robert Hodges, W. R. Hunter, G. N. Jones, Jr., Melbourne E. Joseph, Earl Keyes, Stuart G. Kruger, Melvin L. Mitchell, retired U.S. District Court Clerk J. T. Noblin, Celeste G. O'Keeffe, Gary R. Parvin, Gerald C. Patch, retired Hinds County Judge Houston Patton, Matthew S. Poole, retired Chief Justice Lenore L. Prather, John L. Prichard, William A. Pyle, Harvey B. Ray, William E. Ready, Sr., John R. Rittelmeyer, Sara H. Roberts, Bobby D. Robinson, Frederick R. Rogers, Thomas E. Royals, Forrest D. Ruegger, Ben Ladnier Saucier, Jonathan Douglas Shelton, Leland S. Smith III, Leslie W. Smith, Paul G. Swartzfager, Jr., Jennifer Leann Thompson, James A. Torrey, Jr., Jay A. Travis III, Eddie H. Tucker, Harlon H. Varnado, retired Chancellor William G. Willard, Jr., Sally B. Williamson, Alvin R. Wright, Jr., and J. D. Wynne.