Lee County Court Judge Stephen Spencer to take oath Dec. 22

December 12, 2022

An investiture ceremony for new Lee County Court Judge Stephen Spencer will be held Dec. 22 at 3 p.m. on the second floor of the Lee County Justice Center in Tupelo.

Judge Deborah Gambrell Chambers receives Judicial Excellence Award

Chief Judge Donna Barnes of the Mississippi Court of Appeals will administer the oath of office. Chief Judge Barnes and attorney John Hill of Tupelo will speak. Hill is a partner in the firm of Mitchell, McNutt and Sams and a mentor. Rev. John Foster of Saltillo First United Methodist Church will offer prayer.

Judge-elect Spencer, 42, of Saltillo, was elected Nov. 8 to Seat 2 of the Lee County Court. He will take the position previously held by Judge James D. Moore, who did not seek reelection.

He has practiced law with the firm of Mitchell, McNutt and Sams since 2006. He also has served as a court appointed guardian ad litem in Chancery Court since 2019. He is a past president of the Lee County Bar Association and the Lee County Young Lawyers. He served for two terms on the Board of Directors of the Mississippi Volunteer Lawyers Project.

He earned a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from the University of Mississippi and a Juris Doctor from Mississippi College School of Law. He served as a law clerk for Judge Barnes during law school.

He is married to Courtney Spencer. They have three children.

Across the state, 18 new trial judges will take their oaths of office in ceremonies scheduled during the next few days. New judges include eight new County Court judges, three new Chancery Court judges, and seven new Circuit Court judges. New judicial terms for County, Chancery and Circuit Court judges begin on Jan. 1, 2023.