Pike County Court Judge David Lee Brewer to take oath Dec. 15

December 14, 2022

Newly elected Pike County Court Judge David Lee Brewer will be sworn in on Dec. 15 during a retirement party for his predecessor, Judge John Price. Judge Price will administer the oath.

Judge Deborah Gambrell Chambers receives Judicial Excellence Award

The retirement party and administration of the oath will be held at the home of John and Jennifer McNeil at 1054 Hill Drive in McComb. The gath-ering is scheduled for 5 to 8 p.m.

Judge Price has served as Pike County Court Judge since Jan. 1, 1999. He did not seek reelection.

Judge-elect Brewer said of Judge Price: “He was my State Championship Mock Trial Team’s coach in high school. I practiced in front of him regularly since 2005 as Youth Court Prosecutor, and since 2008 as County Prosecutor. He is a valued friend.”

Brewer, 51, of Summit, has served as County Attorney for Pike County since 2008, and as Pike County Youth Court Prosecutor since 2006. He was McComb Municipal Court Prosecutor 2007-2018. He also served as interim county attorney for Walthall County, interim Youth Court prosecutor for Walthall County and interim city prosecutor for Tylertown Municipal Court.

He served as secretary treasurer then vice-president of the Southwest Mississippi Bar Association. He served two years as president, in 2009 and 2010. He also served as a judge for the Mississippi Mock trial Competition.

Brewer earned a Bachelor of Science degree in behavioral science from the U.S. Air Force Academy in 1993. He served as a Missile Combat Crew Commander at Minot Air Force Base 1993-1995. He currently serves as director of mentoring for the U.S. Air Force Academy Bolt Brotherhood Association.

He earned a Juris Doctor from the University of Mississippi School of Law in 1998, and in 2000 earned a Masters of Social Science in sociology with a minor in psychology from the University of Mississippi. He was named to the McComb High School Hall of Fame in 2017.

He is married to Deidre Rutherford Brewer.

Across the state, 18 new trial judges will take their oaths of office in ceremonies scheduled during the next few days. New judges include eight new County Court judges, three new Chancery Court judges, and seven new Circuit Court judges. New judicial terms for County, Chancery and Circuit Court judges begin on Jan. 1, 2023.