Investiture ceremony set for April 13 for Chancellor Chase Ford Morgan

April 11, 2023

An investiture ceremony for recently elected 10th District Chancellor Chase Ford Morgan will be held on Thursday, April 13 at 2 p.m. in the Circuit Courtroom at the Forrest County Courthouse, 630 Main Street in Hattiesburg.

Senior Status Judge Deborah Gambrell Chambers, Judge Morgan’s immediate predecessor as chancel-lor, will administer the ceremonial oath of office. It is traditional to hold a formal investiture ceremony soon after the start of a judge’s term. Judge Morgan began her term on Jan. 1 after being elected Nov. 8, 2022.

Department of Child Protection Services workers deliver Thanksgiving meals

The 10th Chancery Court District includes Forrest, Lamar, Marion, Pearl River and Perry counties.

Judge Morgan practiced law for 13 years before she was elected to the bench. She currently serves as president of the South Central Mississippi Bar Association. She served for several years on the Family Law Section Committee of the Mississippi Bar, including as chair 2016-2017. She was selected in 2010 as a national member of the Order of Barristers, and was named in 2014 in the Top 10 Under 40 in Mississippi by the National Academy of Family Law Attorneys.

Judge Morgan was admitted to the Mississippi Bar in 2009. She is admitted to practice in all state and federal courts in Mississippi and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. She is a member of the Mississippi Bar, the Women's Lawyer Association and the South Central Mississippi Bar Association.

Judge Morgan received a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration in international business with a minor in Spanish from the University of Southern Mississippi in December 2004, graduating with highest honors. While attending the University of Southern Mississippi, she was active in Beta Gamma Sigma Business Honor Society, Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and served as a Business Advisory Council Faculty Scholar for the School of Business. She received the Watson Scholarship Award in Economics, Finance and International Business and the Atley Graham Memorial Scholarship Award in Economics and Finance.

She earned her Juris Doctor from the University of Mississippi School of Law, where she was a member of the Moot Court Board, the National Moot Court Competition Team and the Gibbon Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition Team. She received the Herbert E. Dewees Jr. and Timothy L. Walsh National Moot Court Competition Award in 2009, won the 2007 Moot Court Board Appellate Advocacy Competition, and received the Francis S. Bowling Scholarship in Law.