Supreme Court appoints Judge Faye Peterson to Complaint Tribunal

June 6, 2023

The Mississippi Supreme Court appointed Circuit Judge Faye Peterson of Jackson to the Bar Complaint Tribunal on June 5.

Department of Child Protection Services workers deliver Thanksgiving meals

Judge Peterson will serve out the term on the Complaint Tribunal in the position previously held by the late Hinds County Court Judge LaRita Cooper-Stokes, who died May 8. Judge Cooper-Stokes had been a member of the bar discipline panel since January 2018.

Chief Justice Mike Randolph made the appointment on behalf of the unanimous Supreme Court. The term on the Complaint Tribunal is through Dec. 31.

Members of the Complaint Tribunal hear and decide disciplinary matters arising out of complaints against attorneys. Discipline may range from private reprimand to disbarment. Decisions from the Complaint Tribunal may be appealed to the Mississippi Supreme Court. Actions by the Complaint Tribunal are final if not appealed.

The 27-member Complaint Tribunal is made up of nine judges and 18 lawyers selected by the nine members of the Supreme Court from three Supreme Court districts. The Complaint Tribunal sits in panels of three, with each panel comprised of two attorneys and one judge.

Judge Peterson was elected to the Hinds County Circuit Court in November 2018 and took office Jan. 1, 2019. She served as Hinds County District Attorney 2001–2007 after working as an assistant district attorney. While engaging in private law practice, she also served as a family master in Hinds Chancery Court 2009-2018. She earned a bachelor of science degree from Jackson State University and a law degree from Mississippi College School of Law.