
Serial: 156093 FILED 
IN THE SUPREIVIE COURT OF l\USSISSIPPI 

JUL 08 2009 
No. 89-R-99012-SCT OFFICE OF THE CLERK 

SUPREME COURT 
COUAT OF APPEALS 

IN RE: RULES GOJ/ERNING 
ADMISSION TO THE MISSISSIPPI BAR 

ORDER 

This matter is before the Court en banc on the Mississippi Board ofBar Admissions' 

motion to amend the Rules Governing Admission to the Mississippi Bar to increase certain 

fees. After due consideration, the Court finds, pursuant to Section 73-3-2(7) of the 

Mississippi Code, that 

The board shall set and collect the fees for examination and for admission to 
the bar. The fees for examination shall be based upon the annual cost of 
administering the examinations. The fees for admission shall be based upon 
the cost ofconducting an investigation ofthe applicant and the administrative 
costs of sustaining the board.... 

Miss. Code Ann. § 73-3-2(7). The Court further finds that the Board of Bar Admissions 

receives no appropriations from the Mississippi Legislature, and has no other source offunds 

from which to transact its business. The Court further finds that the motion for an increase 

in fees is necessary for the Board of Bar Admissions to continue to transact its business, 

including, but not limited to, administering the bar examination to applicants seeking 

admission to the Mississippi Bar. The Court finds that the amendments, as hereinafter set 

forth, will promote the fair and effective administration of justice and that they should be 

adopted as set forth herein. 



IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that Rule IV of the Rules Governing Admission to 

the Mississippi Bar is amended, effective July 10, 2009, as set forth in Exhibit A, hereto. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of this Court shall spread this order upon 

the minutes of the Court and shall fOf\vard a true certified copy to West Publishing Company 

for publication as soon as practical in the advance sheets ofSouthern Reporter, Third Series 

(Mississippi Edition) and in the next edition of Mississippi Rules O'L---"--­

~/J71:t
 
SO ORDERED, this the~ day of June, 2009
 

ESS H. DICKINSON, JUSTICE 
FOR THE COURT 

TO DENY: PIERCE, J. 
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Exhibit A 

RULE IV. EXA~lINATION APPLICATIONS 

Section 1. Application Forms. 

The application for admission by examination shall be on a fonn prescribed by the 
Board. The provisions of Rule III, Section 1 shall apply to applications for admission by 
examination. 

[Effective November 1,1991.] 

Section 2. Examination Applications for Applicants Who Have Filed Law Student 
Registrations 

Those applicants who have previously registered as law students under Rule III, 
Section 2(A) and those law students who previously registered late under Rule III, Section 
3, must file with the Board an Application for Admission by Examination, designating the 
examination for which applicant desires to sit. Each Application for Admission by 
Examination must be accompanied by a fee of$325.00 $525.00, which shall be in addition 
to registration fees due under Rule III, Section 2(A) and 3. (Money order, certified check, or 
cash only) Application must be filed with the Board on or before October 151 preceding the 
February examination for which the applicant wishes to sit or on or before March pI 
preceding the July examination for which applicant wishes to sit. 

Any law student who has not filed a law student application under Rule III, Section 
2(A) or 3, must file the Application for Admission by Examination under Rule IV, Section 
3 below. 

[Effective November 1, 1991; amended effective July 1, 1999; amended effective August 24, 
2000, for applications for the February 2001 and subsequent examination; amended effective 
April 15, 2004, for applications for the February 2005 and subsequent examinations:-; 
amended effective July 10,2009.] 

Section 3. Examination Applications for Applicants Not Registering as Law Students 

Any applicant who has not previously filed an Application for Registration as a Law 
Student as provided in Rule III, Section 2(A) or 3, must file a completed Application for 
Admission by Examination with the Board on or before September 1sl preceding the February 
examination for which he or she wishes to sit or on or before February 151 preceding the July 
examination for which he or she wishes to sit. A filing fee of $625.00 $825.00 must 
accompany the Application. (Money order, certified check, or cash only) Applicants admitted 
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in otherjurisdictions may be requ ired to pay additional fees for character investigations. Such 
applicants must contact the Board ofBar Admissions Office for the amount of the additional 
fees required, if any. 

[Effective November 1, 1991; amended effective July 1,1999; amended effective August 24, 
2000, for applications for the February 2001 and subsequent examinations; amended 
effective April 15, 2004, for applications for the February 2005 and subsequent 
examinations:; amended effective July 10,2009.] 

Section 4. Late Applications for General Bar Examination 

Any applicant who failed to file a timely Application for Admission by Examination 
under Section 2 or Section 3 above may file a late Application for Admission by Examination 
with the Board from September 2nd to November 15t preceding the February examination for 
which he or she wishes to sit or February 2nd to April 15t preceding the July examination for 
which he or she wishes to sit. A filing fee of $525.00 $725.00 must accompany the 
Application if the applicant has previously registered as a law student as provided in Rule 
III, Section 2(A) or 3, or by a filing fee of $825.00 $1,025.00 if the applicant has not 
previously registered as a law student as provided in Article III, Section 2(A) or 3. Applicants 
admitted in other jurisdictions may be required to pay additional fees for character 
investigations. Such applicants must contact the Board of Bar Admissions Office for the 
amount of the additional fees required, if any. 

When an Application for Admissions by Examination is filed later than the prescribed 
deadlines the Board may act, but shall not be required to act, upon such application in time 
to permit the applicant to take such approaching examination. 

However, under no circumstances will an application to sit for the examination be 
accepted after the prescribed late deadlines in this Section. 

[Effective November 1, 1991; amended effective July 1, 1999; amended effective August 24, 
2000, for applications for the February 2001 and subsequent examinations; amended 
effective April 15, 2004, for applications for the February 2005 and subsequent 
examinations:; amended effective July 10,2009.] 

Section 5. Qualifications for Examination Applicants. 

An application for admission to the Bar by examination may be filed by an individual 
who: 

A. is 21 years of age: 
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B. has received a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university or has 
received credit for the requirements ofthe first three (3) years of college work from a college 
or university offering an integrated six-year prelaw and law course, and has completed his 
law course at a college or university offering such an integrated six-year course; and 

C. (I) has successfully completed, or (2) at the time of taking the bar examination, will 
be within sixty (60) days of completion of, a general course of study of law in a law school 
which is provisionally or fully approved by the Section on Legal Education and Admission 
to the Bar of the American Bar Association. Any applicant filing an exam application under 
Subsection 1(C)(2) of this Rule shall file with the Board on a form prescribed by the Board, 
a statement requesting to take the bar exam pursuant to the above Rule and must request the 
dean or registrar of his law school to file with the Board, on a form prescribed by the Board, 
a certification stating that said applicant should complete his course of study on or before 
sixty (60) days from the date of the examination for which the applicant is registered. At the 
completion of said course and within sixty (60) days after the exam date, the applicant must 
request his law school dean or registrar to file with the Board a "Certificate of Completion" 
evidencing the satisfactory completion of such course of study within the prescribed sixty 
(60) day period. A Certificate of Eligibility for Admission will not be issued to applicant 
without the final certification from his law school dean or registrar. Failure to complete the 
course of study within sixty (60) days of the examination and to have the dean or registrar 
of the applicant's law school so certify shall render the applicant's results on the subject 
examination void. (However, an applicant who, as of November 1, 1981, was or had been 
previously enrolled in a law school in active existence in Mississippi for more than ten (10) 
years prior to the date ofapplication shall be eligible for examination for admission; provided 
that such an applicant must have graduated from such law school prior to November 1, 
1984). 

[Effective November 1, 1991.] 

Section 6. Re-examination Deadlines and Fees. 

Any applicant who fails the bar examination shall be allowed to take the next 
scheduled examination without further investigation as to his character and fitness unless 
additional information requiring investigation comes to the attention of the Board. 

The applicant must file an application on a form provided by the Board for 
reexamination with a fee of$350.00 $550.00 (money order, certified check, or cash only) by 
November pt preceding the February examination and by May pI preceding the July 
examination. 

[Effective Novembcr 1, 1991; amendcd cffcctive July 1, 1999; amended cffective August 24, 
2000, for applications for the February 2001 and subsequent examinations; amcnded 
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effective April 15, 2004, for applications for the February 2005 and subsequent 
examinations:-; amended effective July 10,2009.] 

[Effective November 1, 1991; former section 7 deleted effective December 9, 2004, 
removing the requirement of additional study after three unsuccessful attempts to pass the 
examination .] 

Section 7. Deferment. 

If after filing an exam application, an applicant finds he is unable to take the 
examination on the prescribed date, a written request shall be submitted to the Board for a 
deferment to the subsequent exam period. One deferment will be granted an applicant 
without the filing ofa new application or payment of additional fees. Additional deferments 
shall require the payment of the filing fee of$125.00 $325.00 (money order, certified check 
or cash only). After more than one deferment, the Board may require re-investigation of the 
applicant's character and fitness. Failure on the part of an applicant to appear for an 
examination without first requesting deferment will result in the application being dismissed 
and the applicant will have to file a new application and pay the regular application fee for 
the subsequent examination. 

[Effective November 1, 1991; section renumbered effective December 9, 2004:-; amended 
effective July 10,2009.] 

Section 8. Examination of Disbarred Attorneys 

A disbarred attorney seeking reinstatement to the Mississippi Bar pursuant to Rule 12 
of the Mississippi Rules of Discipline shall file with the Board of Bar Admissions an 
application to take the Mississippi Bar Examination on or before January 1sl preceding the 
February examination for which such applicant proposes to sit or on or before June 1sl 

preceding the July examination for which such applicant proposes to sit. The form of such 
applications shall be prescribed by the Board. The application must be accompanied by an 
examination fee of$325.00 $525.00 (money order, certified check, or cash only) payable to 
the Board of Bar Admissions. The Mississippi Bar Examination shall be administered and 
graded for such applicants in the same manner as for applicants for new admission. The 
results shall be reported to the applicant, to the Clerk of the Mississippi Supreme Court, and 
to the Board of Bar Commissioners. The same procedures and fees, where applicable, for 
deferrals, petitions for review, appeals, and re-examination applicable to applicants for 
admission through the regular bar examination shall be applicable to applicants for 
examination under this Rule. 

[Adopted effective December 31, 1992; amended effective August 24,2000, for the February 
200 I and subsequent examinations; amended effective April 15,2004, for applications for 
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the February 2005 and subsequent examinations; section renumbered effective December 9, 
2004:; amended effective July 10,2009.] 
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