Gartin Building Exterior Right Facade during Fall

February 2022 Bar Exam Application

All applications that are completed, whether it is the Bar Exam Application, or Application Update, must be printed, notarized and submitted to the Board of Bar Admissions office, along with the requisite fee for the application you are submitting. Completed applications and the requisite fee must be received in the Board’s office on or before the appropriate filing deadlines.

If you previously submitted an application to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions, you will need to complete an Application Update for the Bar Exam which is now online (Please see February 2022 Application Update Instructions link below). For any additional questions or concerns with completing the online application, please contact the bar admissions staff at barexamweb@courts.ms.gov.

Fees: You may pay the requisite fees online, exact cash, money order or certified check. Personal or business checks are not accepted. All requisite fees must be payable to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions.

Application Deadlines
February Exams:    
Regular filing deadline
September 1st $850.00
Law Student Registration Application Update
September 1st $550.00
Late filing deadline
November 1st $1050.00
Law Student Registration Application Update
November 1st $750.00
Deferment Application Update
November 1st $350.00/$25.00
Retake Application Update November 1st $575.00

July Exams:

   
Regular filing deadline
February 1st $850.00
Law Student Registration Application Update
February 1st $550.00
Late filing deadline
April 1st $1050.00
Law Student Registration Application Update
April 1st $750.00
Deferment Application Update
April 1st $350.00/$25.00
Retake Application Update May 1st $575.00
All requisite fees listed above include a $25.00 application/processing fee.    

National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) Character and Fitness Application - Any applicant who has lived outside the State of Mississippi for six (6) months (either consecutively or cumulatively) or longer after his/her eighteenth (18th) birthday (including residence for educational, employment, or military reasons), must complete a NCBE Character and Fitness Application, in addition to the Bar Examination Application, and pay a fee to the NCBE. Please see fee list on the NCBE website. This fee is in addition to fees due to the Mississippi Board of Bar Admissions and must be paid separately. DO NOT INCLUDE BOTH NCBE and MBBA FEES IN ONE PAYMENT. If you are required to complete the NCBE Character and Fitness Application, it must be submitted, along with the requisite fee, at the same time you submit your Bar Examination Application.

Bar Web Instructional Videos